1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Raid

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by x_saosin_x, Jan 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. x_saosin_x

x_saosin_x Thread Starter

i duno, this mite be a stupid question but

can you put 2 ata hard disks in a raid configartion to make them one?

i know you can with sata but wasnt sure, i duno.

and also looking at getting a new hdd on friday which is sata, i can mix this with ata drives?

and also i want it as E: drive (3rd hdd) i got a 40gig master ata, a 80gig slave ata, but what would the other disk be, becuse they dont jumpers on do they? and i only have 2 sata slots on my motherboard.

ohh and if you can put ata in a raid or whatever, do you have to reformat them first and do it from there?

thanks

2. redcivic

redcivic

Has to be one type or the other from what I found out. I tried to get one SCSI and two SATA's to work and found out it is not possible. IBM told me you cannot have two different hard drive setups on one RAID config. That's what I get for just listening to any old tech because an associate told me it was possible..

3. Swiper

Swiper

I believe some motherboards will allow you to set up a Raid using IDE and SATA but, i wouldn't bother trying that

although they do recommend using identical hardrives in for a raid arraay, it is not always necessary.
    you can have 1 - 40 gig and 1 - 60 gig drive, the the array will only be as big as the small drive x2
    example: 40 + 60 would make a 40 + 40 gig array. A waste of 20gigs
    80 +120 would make a 80 + 80 gig array A waste of 40 gigs

you get the point ?

4. x_saosin_x

x_saosin_x Thread Starter

ah rite, so im best off just having 3 seperate drives at the moment,