1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RAM Advice Needed...PLEASE

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ktg35envy, Jul 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ktg35envy

    ktg35envy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Hello again. I have an Asus P4C800 deluxe mobo and currently have generic 2x512mb pc 3200 DDR SDRAM installed in dimm slot 1 and 3.

    I am going to buy OCZ EL DDR-3200 400MHz PLATINUM Memory 2GB (2x 1024MB) D/C Kit P.N. - OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K this week.

    I'd like to know if i am able to keep the old ram in the system and use the new ocz ram as well. Or will there be a conflict? When i asked my local computer tech guy down the street he told me that I should not mix and match ram. It could cause system to freeze up or files to go corrupt. Is this true?

    Do my settings look ok?

    here is my cpu-z report that might help to get a better picture of my specs:

    CPU-Z version 1.35.

    CPU(s)
    Number of CPUs 2 (1 Physical)
    CPU#1 APIC ID = 0
    Name Intel Pentium 4
    Code Name Northwood
    Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz
    Family / Model / Stepping F 2 9
    Extended Family / Model F 2
    Brand ID 9
    Package mPGA-478
    Core Stepping D1
    Technology 0.13 um
    Supported Instructions Sets MMX, SSE, SSE2
    CPU Clock Speed 2398.8 MHz
    Clock multiplier x 12.0
    Front Side Bus Frequency 199.9 MHz
    Bus Speed 799.6 MHz
    L1 Data Cache 8 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
    L1 Trace Cache 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
    L2 Cache 512 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
    L2 Speed 2398.8 MHz (Full)
    L2 Location On Chip
    L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
    L2 Bus Width 256 bits
    CPU#2 APIC ID = 1
    CPU Name Intel Pentium 4 (logical unit)

    Mainboard and chipset
    Motherboard manufacturer ASUSTek Computer Inc.
    Motherboard model P4C800, Rev 1.xx
    BIOS vendor American Megatrends Inc.
    BIOS revision 1006.005
    BIOS release date 05/06/2003
    Chipset Intel i875P rev. A2
    Southbridge Intel 82801EB (ICH5) rev. 02
    Sensor chip Winbond W83627THF
    FSB Select 800 MHz
    Performance Mode disabled
    Graphic Interface AGP
    AGP Status enabled, rev. 3.0
    AGP Data Transfer Rate 8x
    AGP Max Rate 8x
    AGP Side Band Addressing supported, enabled

    Memory
    DRAM Type DDR-SDRAM
    DRAM Size 1024 MBytes
    DRAM Frequency 199.9 MHz
    FSB: DRAM 1:1
    CAS# Latency 3.0 clocks
    RAS# to CAS# 4 clocks
    RAS# Precharge 4 clocks
    Cycle Time (TRAS) 8 clocks
    # of memory modules 2
    Module 0 DDR PC3200 - 512 MBytes
    Module 1 DDR PC3200 - 512 MBytes

    Software
    Windows version Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
    DirectX version 9.0c
     
  2. happyrck

    happyrck

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,202
    although you shouldn't mix memory brands...it will sometimes work...but if you are getting a matched set...I would say dont mix them with the old memory..the timimgs you show are NOT fast timings and could slow your new memory up..just sell the old stuff to someone who can use it
     
  3. ktg35envy

    ktg35envy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    thank you for the advice. i noticed from my cpu-z report that Performance Mode is disabled. will this affect anything and should i change it and if so, where do i change that, BIOS?
     
  4. happyrck

    happyrck

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,202
    yep...the bios is where the settings are...turn on performance mode....if you are going to OC then do It slowly and methodically...and use the system for awhile to check for stability before going faster...when you get any instability back off a little and quit adjusting on it
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/486436

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice