1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RAM causing crashing?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by reaper616, Jul 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reaper616

    reaper616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    336
    I recently installed some new RAM on my Girlfriends Pc and it crashes, more than it used to, i had used the scanner on www.crucial.com and see what i needed, and i got them it, put it in a and it keeps crashing, help would be appreciated.
     
  2. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    You can get Memtest86 and run some diagnostics.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,773
    First Name:
    Frank
    What is the brand name, model name, and model number of her computer?

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. reaper616

    reaper616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    336
    I'm not so good on Windows Me, so can yuou tell me how to find the information you need, this would be a gret help, thankyou
     
  5. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    What flavallee was asking is the computer a Dell, a HP, Gateway etc. It should say on the computer itself. If you have the owners manual look there for model type.
     
  6. reaper616

    reaper616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    336
    The make of the Pc is a E Machine
     
  7. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    And the Model number?
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,773
    First Name:
    Frank
    We got the brand name(E-Machine). One down two to go.

    What is the model name?

    What is the model number?

    My reason for asking for this information is to determine what type of RAM modules are needed and how much RAM that computer supports.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. reaper616

    reaper616 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    336
    I have already found that out from crucial's website they have a scanner that tells you what type of ram you need, did you want to me to send you a link with all of the info on it?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487465

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice