1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ram error?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jobo24, Jun 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jobo24

    jobo24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Okay im new to this site and i need some help i hope i find it here.

    Iv had an Emachines for about 4 to 5 years (still nice) running windows XP media center and now dual booting ubuntu. I needed to add Ubuntu because i had been given a gigs worth of ram from my cousin, i tried putting it in to my computer and i had already had 4 ram sticks in there all about 500 mb each, so i took one out and tried putting the new one in, it didnt fit but i didnt know that till the computer wouldnt turn on and the button in the front startd flashing, so i took it out and replaced it with the original one. it turned on like normal but now its slow. and im not picky with speed but this is so slow that my desktop will not load or if it does load with all the icons i cannot do ANYTHING, nothing will load, iv ran checks thru ubuntu and ubuntu can read all my ram just fine from all 4 sticks and runs at a good speed, but i cant live with a linux operating system, i just need my windows back :( please give me some ideas, i feel like windows isnt reading all the ram that i have.

    whats your opinion?
     
  2. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,678
    What is the memory count during POST? If your machine is not showing this on the screen during the power on self test, you might need to change your BIOS options. They call it different things in different BIOSes. You want to disable what some might call "Silent Boot".
     
  3. jobo24

    jobo24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Memory during post? During the sef test it shows all the accounted for ram. What's the silent boot? What does that do? I'm good with computers usually it's just when that don't wok that I have no clue
     
  4. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    8,678
    Some computers have a setting in the BIOS that suppresses the display of power-on-self-test results, such as the finding of hard disks and testing of the memory, etc. Some refer to that as silent boot. If yours is showing you the memory count. It is already set for what some call Verbose.
     
  5. jobo24

    jobo24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    How do I use this setting?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Roaxis
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    652
  2. zilchvortex
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    361
  3. dawumyster
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    955
  4. leigh40
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    483
  5. pstreur
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    464
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1001811