1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ram for a PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by primomars89, May 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. primomars89

    primomars89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hey guys,i'm new on this forum,sorry if i posted in the wrong section.
    I just received from a friend a PC because my notebook just broke down.My sistem info is Amd Athlon 64 x2 3800+ with only 2gb ram ddr2.I would like to buy some ram online but i don't know exactly what type i need..I searched online and i found something like this : Memoria RAM 4GB(2X2GB) DDR2-800MHz PC2-6400 240 PIN Desktop Dimm AMD PC2-6400U ..It will work on my pc or i need a different type?
    The PC is a packard bell with windows 7 ultimate 64 bit
    Thank you for your time.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    goto http://www.crucial.com/ and run the memory scan tool - that should tell you all you needto know about the memory you need

    There is a chance that
    windows 7 ultimate 64 bit
    maybe a non-genuine version

    on the bottom of the laptop - should be a CoA label which will tell you the version of windows provided with the PC
    and the Key for that version of windows

    have a look and see what it says
     
  3. primomars89

    primomars89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,571
    Please run the MGA Diagnostic Tool and post back the report it creates:
    • Download MGADiag to your desktop.
    • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
    • Click "Continue"
    • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
    • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
    • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,654
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the serial number and/or SNID number on that Packard Bell desktop?

    Is it an iMax or iMedia or iPower or iXtreme or oneTwo model?

    What country do you live in?

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148511

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice