1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RAM Help, i am an idiot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Phamalam, Jan 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Phamalam

    Phamalam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Ok I do not get anything about RAM i apologize in advance for my idiocy. I have Micron RAM 1gb x 2 DDR2 PC2-5300 333ghz. The max i can get is 4gb so i have to get 2 x 2gb RAM. But what the hell do i get? i do not understand what is compatible with my computer. what is with RAM with higher Frequency? can i use them?, And again i am an idiot....
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the brand name, model name, and model number of your computer?

    If perchance it's a Dell, advise what the service tag number is.

    If perchance it's a HP or Compaq, advise what the product number is.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Phamalam

    Phamalam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Manufacturer Packard Bell BV
    Model APL00
    Version PCB 1.X
    Serial Number C7R8108321
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    Is your computer a desktop or a laptop(notebook)?

    Which country are you in?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Phamalam

    Phamalam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Desktop

    In the UK
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You've started 2 threads on upgrades. I would suggest you evaluate what you really want to do with your computer and determine if it's more cost effective to get a new system.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    Phamalam:

    6 desktop models are listed at the Packard Bell UK site. Which one do you have?

    iMax

    iMedia

    iMedia XS

    iPower

    IXtreme

    oneTwo

    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    DoubleHelix:

    I wasn't aware there's another thread. Do you have the link?

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Phamalam

    Phamalam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    22
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    I found your other thread that DoubleHelix was referring to.

    If your intent is to use Windows 7(64-bit) with 4 GB of RAM or more, you need to buy a new computer instead of trying to upgrade that old desktop.

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Phamalam

    Phamalam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    So basically my motherboard is crap?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977679

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice