1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ram Help Please

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BE7A, Jul 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BE7A

    BE7A Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Hello everyone, I currently have 512MB of RAM in my Desktop.

    This is what I have:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?product=3254080&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&lang=en&cc=us

    I was thinking about getting 2GB of RAM, but i have come with some issues.

    I was wondering if the following would fit:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134046

    Any advice or recommendation will be greatly appreciated.

    The only reason I am increasing my RAM is because I play demanding games like Battlefield 2 and Battlefield 2142.

    I tried doing a scan on crucial.com but it did not give me any results.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Memory

    * Two 240-pin DDR2 DIMM sockets
    * Supports PC 4200 (533 MHz) and PC2 5300 (667 MHz) DDR2 DIMMs
    * non-ECC memory only, unbuffered
    * Maximum HP/Compaq approved memory is 2 GB

    Well its the right type and speed so it should work, never any guarantees with memory though that it will work as it should.
    Kingston does have a website to help you choose memory: http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...a+Center+SR2032X&distributor=0&submit1=Search
     
  3. BE7A

    BE7A Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    68
  4. gamerbyron

    gamerbyron

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,091
    The PC 8500 Ram is not compatiable with your desktop, the speed of your ram (Mhz) must match, and also i don't think your motherboard can support it. Is your ram PC4200(533Mhz) or PC 5300(667 Mhz) DDR2. If you don't know google "cpu-z" and download it.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    It might work, that memory is just clocked faster but most memory will clock down to match what the motherboard will support. You'd have to try it to know.
     
  6. BE7A

    BE7A Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    I downloaded CPU-z and it said

    Max Bandwith: PC2- 4300 (266Mhz)
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Which only means that you are using PC4200/4300 memory right now. So while the PC5300 memory is also supported you won't get any benefit by adding the faster memory over adding the PC4300.
     
  8. Blob493

    Blob493

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    You will need at least another 1gb of RAM if you want to play BF2 and games like that smoothly. How many RAM sockets have you got left in your comp? I have 2.5gb of RAM myself because i have BF2 and also I have vista which likes to feed on alot of RAM.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    It has two slots and the maximum he can have is 2GB.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/591110

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice