1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RAM Information

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lazyi2etard, Sep 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lazyi2etard

    lazyi2etard Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    I have a Azaa 845GL-MLT board with an SiS 661FX chipset and i am about to perform a RAM upgrade. According to SiS's website the card can support this:

    DRAM Controller
    - DDR400/DDR333/DDR266 Support
    - Supports Up to 2 un-buffered DIMMs DDR400
    - Supports Up to 3 un-buffered DIMMs DDR333/266
    - Up to 1GB per DIMM with 512Mb tech.
    - Dynamic Clock Enable (CKE) control placing the Memory into Suspend to DRAM state.

    However I do not know what type of RAM my motherboard takes.

    Thank you for the help.

    P.S: My motherboard only has 2 sockets for RAM.
     
  2. baaddgurl

    baaddgurl

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    160
  3. lazyi2etard

    lazyi2etard Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    My board is not listed.
     
  4. baaddgurl

    baaddgurl

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    160
  5. lazyi2etard

    lazyi2etard Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you so much but I have another question, does my chipset effect how much RAM I can have?
     
  6. baaddgurl

    baaddgurl

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Yes , if you are doing a major ram upgrade . How much were you adding ?
     
  7. lazyi2etard

    lazyi2etard Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Since Im lacking in other areas I was going to go for a full 2GB, my chipset is a SIS 661FX and this is what it says:

    DRAM Controller
    - DDR400/DDR333/DDR266 Support
    - Supports Up to 2 un-buffered DIMMs DDR400
    - Supports Up to 3 un-buffered DIMMs DDR333/266
    - Up to 1GB per DIMM with 512Mb tech.
    - Dynamic Clock Enable (CKE) control placing the Memory into Suspend to DRAM state.
     
  8. baaddgurl

    baaddgurl

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    160
  9. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    How much memory do you have in there now?

    You can install just 1 memory stick. For example, if you have two 256s in there now, you may want to just drop one stick in there (total of 1.25 gigs (approximate)). I'm not sure you are going to see any more performance from 2 Gigs.
     
  10. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    That doesn't mean that maximum RAM will help you. Large RAM only helps if you are using very large files (like video files) or gaming. It won't speed up your computer otherwise.
     
  11. lazyi2etard

    lazyi2etard Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    It is meant for games.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Information
  1. Brigham
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    132
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/503495

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice