RAM Install gone bad... :(

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

slosvt

Hi all, im a newbie to the forum. Found it in a google search trying to look for an answer to my problem.

Last night I attempted to install this stick of RAM (circuitcity.com/ccd/productDetail.do?oid=70463&WT.mc_n=8360&WT.mc_t=U) into my desktop. The desktop is a HP from Bestbuy with the following specs (I am pretty sure they are accurate): 2.4G Amd Athlon, 512mb ram, 160g HD. I will post more detailed info when I get home from work.

After initial bootup from the install I could not click on any of the icons, including the start menu. I figured that something was wrong or I had the wrong RAM in it, so I removed it and rebooted the CPU with the original RAM in the original slot. Everything booted up okay and I can now click on the icons and start menu. The new problem is that the cpu will not load any programs (IE, Mozilla, Quicken, Disk Defrag), but it will let me open folders I have the on the desktop. When I attempt to open a program I get an hour glass for about 3 seconds and then it goes away and the cpu stops trying.

Any questions on where I should start? The only other thing I did was uninstall Norton and during the reboot is when I installed the RAM.

you said, "The only other thing I did was uninstall Norton and during the reboot is when I installed the RAM."

Norton WHAT? The entire security package, or one component?

How did you do the uninstall? REMOVE Programs routine, or MANUALLY?

Does the new RAM Chip match the Specs of the OLD one?

Did you try using ONLY the new stick?

From your described symptoms this sounds more like a Windows problem than a Hardware issue. Perhaps you should try a Repair or Restore Point prior to the changes.

slosvt