1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ram Issue on Multi boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mobo, Sep 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mobo

    mobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    After installing a 256 stick in my box I am getting the usual stop error assigned to ram issues. The xp installation reads the ram correctly but continues to give blue screens almost immediately. The w2k and 98 installations work great with both the new and old ram so what gives on xp ? Any thoughts anyone why xp won't play nice on the new ram ?
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Does the motherboard use a VIA chipset?
     
  3. mobo

    mobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Intel 815 E
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Oh, well there goes my idea.

    Well, the only other suggestion I have is to try another brand/stick.
     
  5. mobo

    mobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    I don't remember downloading the chipset drivers on the last reformat on xp and since i have two different name sticks and plan on getting another on tuesday anyway would it make a difference by matching the new one and have only the two ?
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Does the computer run ok with just the new 256MB piece?
     
  7. mobo

    mobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    It at one point didn't even let me into w2k but I had just removed it and am now in. Still cannot get into xp though.
     
  8. mobo

    mobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    I did also do the chipset drivers again to be sure..I should also note that the last attempt in xp safe mode failed to even get in..
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Hmm, sounds like a bad or incompatible stick.
     
  10. mobo

    mobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Thanks...I'll see te guy tommorrow am. I'll try my old 128mram back in now..
     
  11. mobo

    mobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Deffinitly a ram issue Triple6. Back to my old setup of two 128 Kingston's and joy again is restored to the land of me for now..
     
  12. mobo

    mobo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Well in my constant quest to never give up I may have found a solution. Replaced the old stick in the first slot then took the new one , cleaned the contacts and put it in the second slot and so far so good. Sounds strange to have the bigger stick in the second slot but its working..
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166379

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice