1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ram issue....

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sgooch, Oct 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    I am running WindowsMe with a p3 800 and 128 Ram. I went out and tried this frre utility FreeRam XP Pro 1.40 to see if i could free up some ram because my computer is extremely sluggish for the specs i have. I found out that when i run my computer with nothing running except Explorer that my Ram is only 20% free and my System load is 76 percent. I said to myself.. whoa that could not be right.. but i restarted and tried the program once agan with nothing running except Explorer and i had the same results. So i'm asking is it posible i have a virus or trojan that is eating up my system resources?
     
  2. hannas

    hannas

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Run a virus check with a scanner using the latest updates available. or check it here
    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
    after clearing up any viral threats chech your system with ad-aware6 get it here - http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/
    just get the free one. Install it, update it and run a scan, then quarantine any of the things it shows up and/or remove them.

    after doing thisyou should post a hijackthis log in this thread for someone to check out...get it here http://www.spychecker.com/program/hijackthis.html
    just unzip the file - run it - save the log to a word doc
    and then copy and paste it into another post here for someone to have a look at.
    its a lot to do, but its worth it.
     
  3. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    In HijackThis it says im running

    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.51 (5.51.3020.2100)

    but in IE under About it says im running Version 6.2600.0000IC

    I remember along time ago on these boards that someone told me to change a string in my registry to 6.2600.0000IC

    Maybe that is why i can't get the internet service packs. Because I'm really running IE 5.51 but registry thinks it's 6.2600.0000IC

    Does anyone know the registry string so i can change it back?
     
  4. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 10:24:59 AM, on 10/4/2003
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.51 (5.51.3020.2100)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SVCHOSTS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPSYSDRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINRAR\WINRAR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\RAR$EX00.988\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.2020search.com/search/9884/search.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://search.shopnav.com/apps/epa/epa?cid=shnv9884&s=
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://search.shopnav.com/apps/epa/epa?cid=shnv9884&s=
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://home.peoplepc.com/home/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.2020search.com/search/9884/search.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by PeoplePC
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {14b3d246-6274-40b5-8d50-6c2ade2ab29b} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SRNG\SNHELPER.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Kernel32] Kernel32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [svchosts] svchosts.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [srng] \Program Files\Srng\Srng.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Kernel32] Kernel32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [svchosts] svchosts.exe
    O4 - Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O9 - Extra button: PeoplePC (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Guide (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Trace (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: VisualRoute Trace (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://home.peoplepc.com/home/
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! PagerLite - http://jpager.yahoo.com/m6/msgr.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! PageBuilder - http://pagebuilder.yahoo.com/members/tools/pagebuilder/prod/client.2.60.18/code/client.cab
    O16 - DPF: {72D59B9C-1E59-4958-803A-ABDEE2D4CFA6} (DivX Player) - http://download.divx.com/player/DivXPlayerInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...apple.com/qt505/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9DBAFCCF-592F-FFFF-FFFF-00608CEC297C} - http://download.weatherbug.com/minibug/tricklers/AWS/minibuginstaller.cab
    O16 - DPF: {50F65670-1729-11D2-A51F-0020AFE5D502} (ForumChat) - http://objects.compuserve.com/chat/RTCChat.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37566.7024768519
    O16 - DPF: {CAFEEFAC-0014-0001-0001-ABCDEFFEDCBA} (Java Runtime Environment 1.4.1_01) -
    O16 - DPF: {FC3A74E5-F281-4F10-AE1E-733078684F3C} (Downloader Class) - http://www.2020search.com/toolbar/2020Search.cab
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/76808a0e7ae82f/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
     
  5. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    After i did all that i have 35% free ram and 35-40% system load. still more system load and less ram than i probably should have...
     
  6. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    I suggest that 128mb of RAM is just about minimum for any of the Win9x OS's including ME (except maybe Win95). I'm not really surprised you have 70 - 80% utilization. When you say nothing but explorer running... Have you shut down all your startup items listed in msconfig?
     
  7. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    I free'd up my startup and now im getting 25-30% load and 40-50% free ram..
     
  8. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    Hi again sgooch... Just for the nuts of it, after initiating my previous post, I shut down all running processes except systray and explorer using EndIt All . Then I restarted Norton System Doctor so I could look at the PM (Permanent Memory) sensor. Ran my memory cleaner and the highest reserve memory I could get was 237mb and it was slowly deteriorating as I watched. It became reasonably stable at about 204mb. I have 384mb of RAM, so simple subtaction says I was, at best, utilizing 147mb stablizing at 180mb with nothing running except the OS and Norton System Doctor.

    I do not assert this to be precisely applicable to your situation as much as to give you input relavent to your original question. Basically, up to a point, you can't have to much RAM.
     
  9. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Anyone help me with this problem?

    In HijackThis it says im running

    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.51 (5.51.3020.2100)

    but in IE under About it says im running Version 6.2600.0000IC

    I remember along time ago on these boards that someone told me to change a string in my registry to 6.2600.0000IC

    Maybe that is why i can't get the internet service packs. Because I'm really running IE 5.51 but registry thinks it's 6.2600.0000IC

    Does anyone know the registry string so i can change it back?
     
  10. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Where is a good place to buy a PC100 SDRAM,168-pin?

    I was thinking either 256 or 512 Mb's.

    I'm trying to find the best value since i have a fairly small budget.
     
  11. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    Hard to beat Crucial ( www.crucial.com ). Overnight delivery, the best RAM available (in my opinion), guaranteed to work, and reasonably priced. You can order on-line. Just enter your PC make and model into their tool and it will tell exactly what you need.

    BTW.. You will see little improvement over 384mb (3X128) with Win98. Can't say for sure about ME as I've never used it. My understanding is ME is not all that different relative to memory management. In fact, my Dell's maximum is 384mb unless I do some other stuff to the BIOS. You only NEED more than that if you are doing some RAM intensive work like video editing or heavy CAD programs.
     
  12. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Anyone help me with this problem?

    In HijackThis it says im running

    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.51 (5.51.3020.2100)

    but in IE under About it says im running Version 6.2600.0000IC

    I remember along time ago on these boards that someone told me to change a string in my registry to 6.2600.0000IC

    Maybe that is why i can't get the internet service packs. Because I'm really running IE 5.51 but registry thinks it's 6.2600.0000IC

    Does anyone know the registry string so i can change it back?
     
  13. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    I think I found the right place to look in regedit...

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>>>SOFTWARE>>>Microsoft>>>Internet Explorer>>>Version(key) 6.0.2600.0000

    Should i change it back to 5.51.3020.2100 and see if i can get any of the service packs?
     
  14. sgooch

    sgooch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    460
  15. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169459

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice