RAM question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nickelodeon

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2002
Messages
590
hi,

I have 128mb SDRAM inside my computer right now. I want my programs to run faster so I decided to buy 512mb ram DDR. I am deciding which one to get. My mobo is an athlon xp 1800+ and would it be compatible with a 3200 512 DDR?

The type i am about to buy is MEM PC3200 512MB DDR DIMM 100+ $140.

I have vistied crucial and it said 3200 was compatible with my mobo but some of my friends said it wouldnt but they dont know much about ram.

ps: I have 2 DDR slots and also i am aware that I cannot connect sd and ddr at the same time.

:) thanks! (in advance)
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2003
Messages
765
The PC3200 RAM needs a memory bus speed of 400MHz to acheive the reads/writes rate of 3200MB per second. The Athlon Xp 1800+ runs at a bus speed of 266MHz. Therefore the PC2100 DDR266 RAM will work just as well (and cheaper), since the PC3200 will run at 266MHz anyway.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2003
Messages
765
Then go for the PC3200, if it's cheaper! It will stand you in good stead if you decide to upgrade your M/B and CPU later.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4,022
Strange pricing you outlined so I thought I'd check. The 2100 is "SO DIMM", here's a definition:
Short for Small Outline DIMM, a small version of a DIMM used commonly in notebook computers. Whereas a full-size DIMM has 168 pins and supports 64-bit transfers, a SO DIMM has only 72 pins, which supports only 32-bit transfers, or 144 pins, which supports a full 64-bit transfer.

Here's a quote from New Egg for the 3200: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=20-141-424&depa=0

And the 2100: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-144-001&depa=0
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4,022
nickelodeon said:
so if I get pc 2100 256mb Ram will that be just as fast as a pc2100 512 Ram?
No, RAM doesn't equate 1 to 1. 512MB's is always better than 256 but you won't get double the speed. The point is you want to get RAM that is compatible with your motherboard and processor. That's number one!

What mobo do you have?
 

nickelodeon

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2002
Messages
590
OMG!!!! I MELTED MY MOTHERBOARD!!! lol

I got 512 pc3200 and it melted my motherboard!! (i was going to get pc 2100 but they dont sell it anymore). How come it melted my motherboard. I had to buy a new one :( lol
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
What? Did you install the RAM backward? Installing it backward or half way will damage the RAM and/or motherboard. Another thing is if you have a motherboard with SDR and DDR you must change the jumper to select the proper RAM type.
 

nickelodeon

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2002
Messages
590
nope... the ram only went in one way. Well I didnt know that I had to change my jumper settings. It didnt say anything in tyhe manual. the technician who checked my comp out said it was sumthing to do with the power or supply or sumthing like that???
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top