RAM Recommendation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kammo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
28
I'm wanting to add some RAM.

I'm looking at a list that has a heap choices, but I'm not 100% sure which one to select.

Could someone please have a look at this list and suggest which I should buy based on the system summary below...

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
The list is here:
http://www.pricoinsa.es/aqua/results_tarifa.asp?familia=03%

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Here's a summary of my system:
Processor
Model : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
Speed : 1.53GHz
Model Number : 1800 (estimated)
Performance Rating : PR2224 (estimated)
Type : Standard
L2 On-board Cache : 256kB ECC Synchronous Write-Back (16-way, 64 byte line size)

Mainboard
Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI IMB USB i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 CPU(s)
MP APIC : Yes
System BIOS : Award Software International, Inc. 6.00 PG
Mainboard : MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD MS-6382
Total Memory : 255MB DDR-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : VIA Technologies Inc VT8366/A,VT8367 Apollo KT266/A,KT333 CPU to PCI Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 133MHz (266MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 256MB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 133MHz (266MHz data rate)

System Memory Controller
Location : Mainboard
Error Correction Capability : None
Number of Memory Slots : 2
Maximum Installable Memory : 512MB
Bank0/1 - A0 : DIMM 256MB
Bank2/3 - A1 : Empty

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Home (Win32 x86) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 1)

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Cheers,
kamm...
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2003
Messages
765
Information on the
MSI (Micro Star) MS-6382
184-pin DIMM Banking: 2 (2 banks of 1)
AGP Support: 2x and 4x
Chipset: VIA Apollo KT266A
DDR SDRAM Frequencies: PC1600 and PC2100
Error Detection Support: Non-ECC only
Max Unbuffered DDR SDRAM: 2048MB
Module Types Supported: Unbuffered only
Supported DRAM Types: DDR SDRAM only
USB Support: 1.x Compliant
------------------------------------

You get this information by going to crucial and selecting MSI (Micro Star), then Motherboards in step 2, then MS-6382 in step 3.
 

kammo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
28
Thanks guys, I'm still a bit confused...

Bowmar, you suggest Dimm 256 Mb SDRam 133Mhz (which I guess is the one that says "168" next to it), but when I went to crucial.com they say "184-pin DIMM modules are compatible with your system"...

So these pins do they matter - how do I check which I have?

kamm...
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Messages
1,824
kammo said:
Thanks guys, I'm still a bit confused...

Bowmar, you suggest Dimm 256 Mb SDRam 133Mhz (which I guess is the one that says "168" next to it), but when I went to crucial.com they say "184-pin DIMM modules are compatible with your system"...

So these pins do they matter - how do I check which I have?

kamm...
You need the 184pin DDR266 ram = PC2100. This is because your current memory is running at 266Mhz data rate. (266 x 8 = ~2100)

I suggest adding just another 256mb. Getting more would be a waste of money as PC2100 is considered low in performance speed these days and you most likely won't be able to reuse it when you upgrade the motherboard later on.
 

kammo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
28
I opened the box up and found the RAM in there is 256 MB DDR 266 MHz. The other thing I found is that several of the capacitators are corroding. :( Any advice about what to do about that? Is the motherboard about to die?

kamm...
 

Attachments

kammo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
28
Interesting article... I googled "corroding capacitators motherboard", but didn't come up with anything as definitive as this...

My motherboard is from Micro-Star International, which is mentioned in the article...

So it looks like the cause is probably a faulty electrolyte in the capacitators...

So my next question is, given the system spec at the beggining of this post, if one had to pick from the list of mobos in the link below, which would you pick?

http://www.pricoinsa.es/aqua/results_tarifa.asp?familia=01%

BTW: Placa base or P.B. = Motherboard

I leave for the city tomorrow - so I might not get to respond to this until I get to a netcafe...

Hasta later,
kamm...
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Any of the ASUS Socket A boards would do you well and are all good. The more expensive ones are newer and have more features such as Serial ATA hard drive interfaces, Dual Channel RAM support, 6 channel audio, and support for the new 400Mhz FSB AMD CPU's. The best one is the A7N8X-E Deluxe and they have two different prices/descriptions on it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top