Ram testing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kidpro89

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2004
Messages
53
my computer has a problem where it freezes with no reason. so i went to try and test my memory. while i'm testing the memory, that would also freeze. is there any other way to find out wat is making my computer freeze?
 
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
106
If you are testing the ram, and the computer freezes, the ram is almost certainly the problem.

Try www.memtest86.com <---download the testing tool there and run a few tests to see what it reports.

Make sure you read up on how to use it. Its more common than it should be to get faulty ram sticks...so its quite possible you have one.

Hope that helps
 

kidpro89

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2004
Messages
53
yea i tried using that and it freezes, how do i find out wat kind of ram i have so incase i have to buy a new one. also i only have 2 ram slots with 2 ram should i take one of them out and check them one by one.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
287
I use a Doc Memory Tester. It can be found here The nice thing about this program is you make a bootable floppy with it and it then runs without a Windows OS. I usally run the quick test first otherwise the extened test takes forever.
Good Luck,
TK
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
Anton Wan said:
I use a Doc Memory Tester. It can be found here The nice thing about this program is you make a bootable floppy with it and it then runs without a Windows OS. I usally run the quick test first otherwise the extened test takes forever.
Good Luck,
TK
Cool, another Memory tester. Looks like it basically works the same as Memtest86, but it is always good to have a Doctors second opinion. No pun intended at all. :D
 

kidpro89

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2004
Messages
53
does Belarc Advisor tell u if ur computer has any problems?

also i used doc memory tester and that also froze
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
Just a thought,but have you thought about disabling startup items that you don't need to start on bootup.Having too much stuff in there can slow your system down dramatically.The only things I allow to start on bootup on my machine are my anti virus and firewall.

Also go here:http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm
and check out the service configurations,there are a lot of services that you can disable to help your system run better and faster
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top