1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ram testing

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kidpro89, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kidpro89

    kidpro89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    my computer has a problem where it freezes with no reason. so i went to try and test my memory. while i'm testing the memory, that would also freeze. is there any other way to find out wat is making my computer freeze?
     
  2. Boo_Compaq

    Boo_Compaq

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    If you are testing the ram, and the computer freezes, the ram is almost certainly the problem.

    Try www.memtest86.com <---download the testing tool there and run a few tests to see what it reports.

    Make sure you read up on how to use it. Its more common than it should be to get faulty ram sticks...so its quite possible you have one.

    Hope that helps
     
  3. kidpro89

    kidpro89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    yea i tried using that and it freezes, how do i find out wat kind of ram i have so incase i have to buy a new one. also i only have 2 ram slots with 2 ram should i take one of them out and check them one by one.
     
  4. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
  5. kidpro89

    kidpro89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    where do u get lavalys?
     
  6. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    Just click on the link in my post
     
  7. Anton Wan

    Anton Wan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    I use a Doc Memory Tester. It can be found here The nice thing about this program is you make a bootable floppy with it and it then runs without a Windows OS. I usally run the quick test first otherwise the extened test takes forever.
    Good Luck,
    TK
     
  8. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  9. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Cool, another Memory tester. Looks like it basically works the same as Memtest86, but it is always good to have a Doctors second opinion. No pun intended at all. :D
     
  10. kidpro89

    kidpro89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    does Belarc Advisor tell u if ur computer has any problems?

    also i used doc memory tester and that also froze
     
  11. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    Just a thought,but have you thought about disabling startup items that you don't need to start on bootup.Having too much stuff in there can slow your system down dramatically.The only things I allow to start on bootup on my machine are my anti virus and firewall.

    Also go here:http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm
    and check out the service configurations,there are a lot of services that you can disable to help your system run better and faster
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218249

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice