1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RAM unusable

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Lestat9, Feb 6, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lestat9

    Lestat9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I have 24 GB of ram and in the system section it says
    24 GB of RAM (11.9 usable)

    Its a non proprietary system running windows 7 profession 64 bit.
    The only remarkable hardware aspect is it has 2 radeon RX 460 2 GB video cards piggy backed.

    Are the video cards taking up that massive amount of memory or is there anyway to free it?
    Is the memory being used just being allocated?
    Never had this issue before and i tried the "edit boot options" to set the memory and that didn't work.

    THX
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,266
    What OS and what anti virus
    DO NOT set memory or processor in msconfig boot options
    that is for testing purposes only and if you set max ram you will indeed have problems
     
  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,266
    Are you OK with my questions - you have been online all the time and it is now 42 minutes since my reply
    If you sit on the topic and do not refresh it you will not see my reply, until you return to it
     
  4. Lestat9

    Lestat9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    OS As posted : windows 7 profession 64 bit
    Just standard windows defender no other anti-virus installed.
     
  5. Lestat9

    Lestat9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,266
    I apologise I missed the OS on your first post
    However it is according to your last post not windows 7 professional, but windows 7 ultimate

    Please go start - all programs - accessories, system tools, resource monitor
    On the GUI of that click the memory tab and then on the working column ensure it is highest first - if it is not click the heading as on my screenshot - red arrow
    then please send screenshot
    Untitled.png

    ALSO please be aware that Windows Defender on 7 is NOT an anti virus - merely an anti spyware/adware
    Defender on 8 and 10 is a full AV but not on 7

    IF you are certain you only have defender the install MSE
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=5201

    configure it, update it and run a QUICK scan
    please report the results of the scan
    If you have been operating ONLY with Defender we need to ensure the system is clean
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
  7. Lestat9

    Lestat9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I have installed windows 10 and same issue never even connected to the internet , then i tried windows professional, same issue then i formatted my whole hard drive complete clean start and tried windows 7 ultimate , so its defiantly not a virus . Someone said using two video cards at the same time might be allocating memory, but having some hardware experience I never heard of that to this extreme using up 12 of 24 GB. Anyway here is the screen of the memory usage.
    RAM.jpg RAM.jpg
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,266
    Hardware reserved is
    Hardware Reserved Memory that is reserved for use by the BIOS and some drivers for other peripherals

    The problem often is that max mem is checked in msconfig
    However you say although you tied that it is not

    The other problem can be the Page file - what size is yours set for

    Although the total ram shown is correct the problem can still be bad ram
    AS you have clean installed - three times on 10, 7 Pro and 7 Ultimate - this may be the more likely cause
    .

    I suggest you check ram with Memtest
    Please post if you need help on that
    https://www.memtest86.com/
    Make TWO complete passes each pass being of 8 to 11 tests on ONE stick at a time

    There can also be settings in Firmware BIOS UEFI that are not correct but that would not apply in this case unless you have updated- changed BIOS etc.

    You say
    does that include WITH the two cards. Although I do not think that is the problem
     
  9. Lestat9

    Lestat9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Here is what I did in the memory test...
    The mem config is 2 4 GB stick and 2 8 GB sticks.

    I took out the two 4 mg sticks. This came up at 16MB with 7 usable.
    Then i tried just two 4 MG sticks. That came up at 8 MB with 3 usable.

    So its not the memory.
    It may be the video cards. I think unsolvable is the correct answer unless this memory scan program comes up with something fantastic.
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,266
    Well we have only just started - only one post offers a possible troubleshooting cause, so it is a bit early IMHO to make the conclusion that it is unsolvable

    As I asked please
    and
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,266
    Further to the above also please go device manager
    on the View tab
    click resources by connection and expand the memory entry
    Then please follow this
    https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com...ushing-the-limits-of-windows-physical-memory/

    You may need to use a converter to change hex to binary

    Using the converter
    https://www.binaryhexconverter.com/hex-to-decimal-converter
    type in the hex value for the card
    for example 7E700000
    convert to get a binary
    that will be in bytes
    then if necessary convert to GB
    https://whatsabyte.com/P1/byteconverter.htm

    SO on my example hex 7E700000 converts to binary 2121269248 bytes
    and that converts to 1.97559GB

    It is quite complicated and you MAY gain enough information simply by examining device manager memory as explained

    This may also help
    https://superuser.com/questions/561...-ram-marked-as-hardware-reserved-in-windows-7
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1222786

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice