1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RAM Upgrade Dell Dimension 1100

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ACA529, Oct 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    I have some extra DDR2 memory, would that work in my Dell Dimension 1100?

    Thanks.
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,191
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the 7-character service tag number on the sticker?

    Does it have an Intel Celeron or Intel Pentium 4 processor?

    ------------------------------------------------------

    DDR modules have 184 pins and DDR2 modules have 240 pins.

    They're also different in length and notch location - which helps to prevent you trying to install the wrong type module.

    ------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Celeron D.

    Many thanks
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,191
    First Name:
    Frank
    Since it has an Intel Celeron processor, it can use the DDR PC2700(333 MHz) or the DDR PC2100(266 MHz) module.

    According to the Dell site, that processor won't allow either module to run faster than 266 MHz.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. ACA529

    ACA529 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Yeah, the computer is about 5 years old so it's running at a crawl right now. Just trying to find a way to speed it up a bit (it's running 512MB of ram right now.)
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,191
    First Name:
    Frank
    Add more RAM

    Reduce the number of programs and services that are auto-starting and running in the background.

    Reduce the number of system-hungry programs being used.

    Delete the buildup of temp files.

    Detect and remove the buildup of malware, spyware, etc..

    (These are some ways to improve speed and performance.)

    -------------------------------------------------------

    If it's collected a lot of clutter and debris over 5 years, a hard drive format and clean reinstall of Windows might be a good option.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    It maxes out at 1GB of RAM.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1021583

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice