ram upgrade not recognised

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sdp3501

Shawn
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
510
i have two slots for ram. i had one stick equalling 32meg. i put in 128 and everything went fine. so i relaced the 32 with another 128 thinking i would get 256 megs of ram, but the system says i only have 128. the chip snapped in solidly. i have win 98.
i also have the following under "problem devices" in system info...Advanced Power Management support
System
This Device Has a Problem: Code=10 (0xA)
This device is not present, not working properly, or does not have all the
drivers installed. See your hardware documentation.
Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\ROOT\*PNP0C05\0000
Alloc resources: None
Forced resources: None
Boot resources: None
Filtered resources: None
Basic resources: None
INF Name: MACHINE.INF
Driver: System\0008
Driver Date: 4-23-1999
Driver: vpowerd.vxd
File Size: 37523 (0x9293)
File Date: 4/23/1999 10:22 PM
Company Name: Microsoft Corporation
File Version: 4.10.2222
Driver: power.drv
File Size: 1920 (0x780)
File Date: 4/23/1999 10:22 PM
Company Name: Microsoft Corporation
File Version: 4.10.1998

Microsoft 32-bit DLC
NetTrans
This Device Has a Problem: Code=2 (0x2)
Device failure: Try changing the driver for this device. If that doesn't work,
see your hardware documentation.
Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\NETWORK\MSDLC32\0001
Alloc resources: None
Forced resources: None
Boot resources: None
Filtered resources: None
Basic resources: None
Driver: NetTrans\0002
Driver Date: 4-23-1999
Driver: NDISWAN.vxd
File Size: 13011 (0x32D3)
File Date: 4/23/1999 10:22 PM
Company Name: Microsoft Corporation
File Version: 4.10.1998
Driver: dlc.vxd
File Size: Driver Not Installed
File Date: Driver Not Installed
i dont know if this is connected and after reading related posts recognise that i may have more ram than win98 needs.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
2,056
not sure of the sequence:
you started with 32 in slot 1
you added 128 to the slot 2, leaving the 32 in the slot 1?
then added a 128 to slot 1, replacing the 32?
- did the Pc boot with 128 at that point or 160?
- how are verifying the RAM, during the boot up or in right click, my computer, properties?

what's your motherboard name and model, are you sure it will take more than 128?

a little more info should help
 

sdp3501

Shawn
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
510
i had 32 in what i guess was slot one. i could seem to get the 128 stick to snap into what ill call slot 2 so i switched them and wound up with 160. so i thought that i would grab another 128 and be done with it. i replaced the 32 in slot 2 with the new 128 and it snapped in fine. the checking navram at bootup says 128. the system info in windows says 128 as well. i hopes this helps.
i dont know what motherboard i have....thanks
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
2,056
i had 32 in what i guess was slot one. i could seem to get the 128 stick to snap into what ill call slot 2 so i switched them and wound up with 160.

did it actually say 160 at startup after this?
- if so your board will take more than 128

was the 2nd 128 stick the same as the 1st - same brand, buy it at the same place?
- sometimes you get bad ram, sometimes it's good, but won't work with a different brand

have you tried each of the 128 sticks by itself to see if they work
- see if they work separately
 

sdp3501

Shawn
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
510
ill screw around with it and get back to you within 20 mins..same manufacturer
 

sdp3501

Shawn
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
510
i must have the most sensitive m/b on earth!! after removing all the sticks and reinstalling, i realized that although they may have locked into place and the clips snapped down they still werent in right!! geez!! very loose istallation but they work..thank you!! do you have any info on the advanced memory controller message along with the one following it?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
2,056
so you got 256 now...welcome to the club
the first 128 is the most important, the second adds stability to your system especially when using resource hog programs

the other device messages:

i looked around, but they could have various causes

use google for searching with the driver names, i found a bunch of links but you'd have a better idea of what your system has that may be mentioned
 

sdp3501

Shawn
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
510
everyone "in the know" suggests google to find very specific things. how in the world can i use it to find out what my error message on the first prob means.....and i think the second could just be left over crap. what kind of specific info should i offer? your reply and opinion?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
2,056
i'm not in the know - usually in the dark till i start looking for some info

i use google to narrow the field - and it works a lot better than the MS knowledge base search
- and you're the one that knows your system - better than any of us here

in google i just put in vpowerd.vxd to see what would come up,
then i put HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\ROOT\*PNP0C05\0000
- both from the info you had

then i just see what the hits show
vpowerd.vxd refers to something with the power management settings - you know what settings you have, or can look at them, do you have the shut off after so many minutes, go into sleep mode options set etc?
- do these things work?
have you tried reinstalling the drivers etc

is that file even there in your directory? - one of the google items deals with missing files from set up

if i use the registry setting as a search guide, i get 3 or 4 specific articles that talk about the suspend function

2+2 gives me - check my settings if my suspend function is disabled but i have the option checked off in power management - then i have a conflict

so i guess i figure it's a little easier for you (and others) to search for some of these things, you have the system right there and can exclude what doesn't apply, or focus in more on the more likely culprits, without a lot of posts going back and forth

and it's really just looking at the error message and picking a couple words - go from there
- then it's trial and error, common sense, etc
 

sdp3501

Shawn
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
510
thank you...and on to the world of google!!! hahaha!!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top