1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ram vs video card

Discussion in 'Games' started by Jordan03, Sep 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jordan03

    Jordan03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Hello,

    I’m trying to decide if I should get a new video card or if I should get more ram.
    I’m running Windows Vista, with 2 gigs of ram and have the Ge force FX 6150 LE onboard graphics card.

    I never noticed how poorly my comp runs WoW until my gf bought her new PC a few weeks ago. Now I can’t enjoy the game because I really see the difference between her computer, and mine…15 FPS. :mad:

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks again
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    You have enogh ram to handle WOW.
    That integrated video is weak.
     
  3. Jordan03

    Jordan03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    What does integrated or onboard graphics mean? Would my old Ge force fx 5500 card be better?
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    It would probably be better from a graphics memory stand point,
    but I think you will find that computer uses a PCI express bus
    and an AGP card won't work.
    Onboard or integrated means the video is built into the motherboard
    and shares system memory.
    You might want to find out if it has a PCI express X16 slot
    and get a PCI express video card if it does.
     
  5. sup2a

    sup2a

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,351
    what give you that impression? geforce 6 series is old, it could very well be an old AGP motherboard, check inside the case AGP slots are very offset from PCI slots PCIe 16X is very close to being aligned but its longer. Colour mean nothing!
     
  6. Jordan03

    Jordan03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Processor, Operating System and Memory Processor
    AMD AthlonTM 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5000+
    • 2.6GHz, 512KB+512KB L2 Cache, 2000MHz System Bus
    Chipset
    GeForce 6150 LE/nForce 430 Chipset
    Standard memory
    2048MB
    Memory type
    DDR2-SDRAM
    Memory slots
    4 DIMM (240-pin, DDR2) (two available)
    Internal drives
    Internal hard disk drive
    400GB Serial ATA hard drive
    Hard disk drive speed
    (7200 rpm)

    Video RAM
    up to 256MB shared video memory
    2 external optical drive bays, 1 internal HDD bay, 1 external HDD bay
    External I/O ports
    6 USB 2.0 ports (2 in front); 2 FireWire®-IEEE-1394 ports (1 in front)
    Expansion slots
    3 PCI slots (1 available) 1 PCI Express x16 Slot(z) (available)

    My next question...what good pci (16) express vid cards would you all rec.?
    I do some video editing and play wow...thats it.

    Thanks again
     
  7. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    One of these should handle what your doing.
    8600.
     
  8. xwxcrazyloki

    xwxcrazyloki

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Just get rid of that crappy geforce PCI video card chipset, and get one of those nice series 8+ cards!!! :D
     
  9. sup2a

    sup2a

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,351
    Theres a few hundred out there, i dont think an 8600 would be nessercery, you have to have a half decent PSU... and its a bit of overkill for what he wants done (especially a GTS), i know a mate who played WoW with a 64mb integrated piece of rubbish by Intel and he could get a good 20fps in cities, es lucky though :) and my card on this computer is a Radoen X200 very old card but it ran WoW smoothly at around 30-35fps

    take a look at this list and see what you like, and the price you like (dont forget to tell us what you are going to choose so we can tell you a bit about it first)

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2010380048 1069609641&bop=And&Order=BESTMATCH
     
  10. Jordan03

    Jordan03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    I now have a better understanding of what I need as far as a video card. :)
    However, after reading some of the system requirements for some of these cards, I'm starting to think I need a new power supply. The one I have installed currently is 300 watts (the min. requirement for even low end cards.)
    So the next question is, should I stretch the power supply I have to its limit, or invest in something with more power? If so how much power is reasonable?

    Thanks
     
  11. Jordan03

    Jordan03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    GeForce 9500 GT 512MB

    This caught my eye, and wanted everyone's thoughts.

    Low power consumption, decent gaming performance, and budget friendly.
    (or so the review had said)


    Thanks
     
  12. sup2a

    sup2a

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,351
    how low is low power? you power supply isnt just 300W its probably got a bit of power on other rails, what we are interested is the 12V rail as that's the one that power most things. a 9 series card no doubt would push your PSU to the limit
     
  13. Jordan03

    Jordan03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Not sure, I just remember reading "low power consumption."

    I'm going to look for the website and link it here.
     
  14. Jordan03

    Jordan03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Where would I find this information? On the psu itself? perhaps a sticker.
     
  15. sup2a

    sup2a

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,351
    yea its written on the PSU take a look at Nvidia's site and look at what the card needs too. Also tell us what brand the PSU is a cheap one can cause problems when under load
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/753504

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice