1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ram

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by joeyDneedshelp, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. joeyDneedshelp

joeyDneedshelp Thread Starter

okayy well i just reformatted this comp and when i right click My Computer, Properties, it says i only have 96.0 MB of RAM? so i turned it off and looked inside and it looked liked two 256 Mb sticks of RAM.....Any help with this please im really confused :/

2. ozrom1e

ozrom1e

What is the amount of RAM that shows in BIOS after the verification goes thru?

3. joeyDneedshelp

How do i find that? I'm not an expert on this kind of stuff :)

4. golferbob

golferbob

just right click on "my computer " - click on properties ,ram should be near the bottom.

5. joeyDneedshelp

thats what i was talkin about "okayy well i just reformatted this comp and when i right click My Computer, Properties, it says i only have 96.0 MB of RAM?" i did it

6. Athan

Athan

Try taking out the RAM from the slots clean them up and then re insert them !
    See if that fixes it !

~a

7. bodhost.co.uk

bodhost.co.uk

It is your ram problem or your OS problem please try to reinstall your pc and let us know

8. joeyDneedshelp

what do u mena re-install it? i just reformatted it cause i had 96 MB befre lol i wil try to clea them though thankss

9. managed

managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Allan
    When you first power up the PC watch the screen, there should be numbers there that show how much Ram is installed, the numbers may count up to the total.

Press the Pause key to 'freeze' the screen if it only shows for a short time.

If you can see it post back with the total.

10. joeyDneedshelp