1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Rambus memory problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by skotadi, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. skotadi

    skotadi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I have a possible problem with the memory i have installed in my pc
    It's a pentium 4 1,7ghz with 2 256 memories called rambus and nvidia 5200 agp.
    My operating system is xp professional service pack 2
    and my problem is that when ever i open my pc and get to the desktop
    it appears red vertical lines over the images and the desktop icons.
    That problem aplies only when im on 16 bit depth of color,
    when i go to 32 bit the scanlines dissapear with some of my desktop icons
    and the icons in the start bar. I know that it is not the nvidia card because i
    have used newer models and the red lines uppear even in games.
    Any advise would be useful.

    ps: sorry for my english
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Are you using an LCD panel by chance? Have you tried another monitor?

    You can test the memory using Memtest86+: http://www.memtest.org/
     
  3. skotadi

    skotadi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    i forgot to mention that i have tried both lcd and crt panels
    i believe its either the motherboard or the memory.
     
  4. skotadi

    skotadi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    thanks ill try the test
     
  5. skotadi

    skotadi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I took the test but the lines are still there, and no problem was found.
    Any other sugestion.
     
  6. warlord

    warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    my guess is that it may be a bad coincidence with the video card you have. and the only suggestion i have is to make sure its drivers are updated all the way
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    So the problem occurs with multiple monitors and multiple video cards right? And it even showed up during the memory test?

    I'd be leaning toward the motherboard then.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/648727

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice