1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ramdrive

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Daveman1, Jan 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Daveman1

    Daveman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2000
    Messages:
    278
    I only just learned about ramdrives from this MB.
    I was looking through C:.Windows and found a ram drive program. I thought this wierd, and moved it to my doucuments, then restarted to see if it made a differance. It didn't seem to.
    When I went to look again, The file was not in C:> Windows, or my documents.
    This seems suspicious to me.
    Could it be spyware?
    Any thoughts on this would be welcome.
    Thanks,
    Dave

    Also, if I've done something I should'nt have, Please let me know so I can scanreg/restore. Win 98 2nd ed.
     
  2. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    Do you know the exact name of the file and/or it's extension? If you do you can click Start > setting > folder options... Click view, then under Hidden Files click "show all files"

    Now try Start > Find > Files or folders... The enter the file name and/or extension, or use wild cards, such as *.exe.

    If you suspect spyware go to http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/ and download both startup list and spybot. Run them both and let us know what you find.
     
  3. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
  4. Daveman1

    Daveman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2000
    Messages:
    278
    Hay TW 56,
    I think I remember you from way back. I looked at you're post, and will need more than tonight to siffer all dat.
    I don't remember the exact file name but it was really close to
    ramdrive.exe
    :)
     
  5. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi Daveman,

    The program that generates a Ramdrive would most usually
    be kept on a floppy.
    At least thats my experience.

    When creating another drive,
    one would usually set aside portion of the hard drive,
    and give it another letter reference, such as E: drive.

    You can instead set aside a portion of your RAM instead.
    In the same way, it can be given a letter reference and
    treated as another drive.

    This drive has one major difference, it doesnt remain
    after switching off.

    If you think you have put a program on your PC that is
    giving you a Ramdrive, then it must be generating it
    each time you start up.

    Ramdrives are usually a small amount of memory, and are
    usually used to help get something done where the hard
    drive for some reason is either being used, or the job
    actually involves doing something to the hard drive.

    The normal setup routine for W98se uses a Ramdrive
    during the setting up stages. This is why the drive
    letters change when installing, then back again later.

    if you want to see if a Ramdrive is setup on your PC,
    right click on 'My Computer' and choose properties.
    Have a look at your amount of RAM. If there is a
    Ramdrive set up then your RAM will have been reduced
    by the amount set aside as another drive.
    Also double click 'My Computer' and your list of items
    would include another drive, probably called D drive,
    your existing D drive would have been re-named E drive
    and so on if you have more. The icon for this extra
    drive is a chip, well it was for me.

    It is not a function that is used much except for
    special purposes, thats why i keep it on a floppy.
    Its not something i would want every time i started my
    computer.

    I hope this explanation has not left you more confused,
    its not an easy thing to explain.

    Regards, John
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116059

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice