1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ran CCleaner; Now getting DAO.msi error

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by BBCMember, Aug 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BBCMember

    BBCMember Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    I ran CCleaner on a system, and now it's saying it can't load the DAO app because it's missing DAO.msi.

    I did a search and it seems to be an ATI issue.

    I found three possible solutions:

    ------------------------

    Option 1

    1. Look for DAO.exe (you may have to change the setting in Windows Explorer so you can view hidden and system files)
    2. Do a search for "DAO" on your C drive
    3. It might be in a folder like C:ATI\SUPPORT\mmc-9-1-0-0-dao-mdac
    4. Go to START>CONTROL PANEL>ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS>Uninstall DAO
    5. Then go back to the folder where you found DAO.exe and run it

    OR


    Option 2

    1. Download and install MDAC 2.8
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...&displaylang=en

    OR


    Option 3

    Go to Command Prompt and unregister DAO by typing (including the quotes):
    regsvr32 /u "c:\program files\common files\microsoft shared\dao\dao360.dll"
    Type OK

    then...

    Register DAO again by going to the Command Prompt and typing (including the quotes):
    regsvr32 "c:\program files\common files\microsoft shared\dao\dao360.dll"
    Type OK

    It might ask you to do it again, but people have said that it is not necessary

    -----------------------------------------

    Which solution would you suggest?

    How can this be avoided when running CCleaner again, and the DAO.msi file is in the temp folder?
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
    Have you tried undoing all changes made by Ccleaner?
    It has a backup, if you clicked Yes to backup changes.
     
  3. BBCMember

    BBCMember Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Well, I'd rather not do that, as CCleaner was able to free up 16GB of space. I would still like to have the ability to use CCleaner in the future.

    Plus, when I ran it, there was no option to backup the changes, nor do I see where you can initiate the restoration of the backup.
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
    Hi it only backs up any changes made in the Registry cleaner.
    Not the Temp file cleaner.
    Did you clean the Registry?
     
  5. BBCMember

    BBCMember Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    I didn't do anything with the registry. I just used the Cleaner.

    Btw, how accurate is the registry cleaner? Do you trust it? Had any problems with it?

    I just did a scan on another system and it found many problems in the registry. Here are the types of problems it found:

    Missing Shared DLL
    Unused File Extension
    Invalid Default Icon
    ActiveX/COM Issue
    Open with Application Issue
    Applications Paths Issue
    Help File Issue
    Installer Reference Issue
    Uninstaller Reference Issue
    Obsolete Software Key
    Missing Startup Software
    Old Start Menu Key
    Missing MUI Reference

    But the DAO issue is my primary concern.
     
  6. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
    Wouldn't use any Registry cleaner.
    They cause more problems than they claim to solve..many posts on this forum alone keep on proving that to be the case.

    http://www.edbott.com/weblog/?p=643
    As for your DAO problem you may need to choose 1.2 or 3.
     
  7. BBCMember

    BBCMember Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    120
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
    All good questions.
    I do not know which of those would work as I've never had the problem.
    Id probably try No 2 first but I have yet to check the link.
    Then maybe No 3.
    It's your call,
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/738236