1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Random Black Screen While Playing Games

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Demonlie, Apr 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Demonlie

Demonlie Thread Starter

Hiya guys, newbie here to the forums. I've been having a problem where a black screen would randomly appear while I'm playing games.I'm sorry if I picked the wrong section. I have built a custom computer a few days ago, and I've had a problem with my screen going black when playing games. I'm using a Windows 8..1 64-bit computer along with an XFX Radeon R7 260X graphics card. I know it isn't my HDMI cables. When my computer's screen goes black, I can hear audio from my videos and Skype but after a few minutes I cease to hear anything, and sometimes, it will loop the sounds over and over again. I've been using my laptop hard drive for my computer, and I had a similar problem, as it froze a lot. I'm suspecting my hard drive needs to be formatted. Along with that, I have to force shut-down my computer, as it doesn't turn off properly. If any help is available, it'll be greatly appreciated. I'm using an Intel Core i5 Processor, and I'm also using a 650 watt power supply. 8GB of RAM and Direct X 11.2.

2. metallica5456

metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Andrew
    SO you yanked the HDD out of your laptop and did NOT reinstall wndows or REFORMAT the HDD and clean install windows?? That means you're technically violating the EULA of the OEM copy of windows on your laptop. Aside from that, the issue most likely is because you need to CLEAN install windows (u will have to BUY A LEGIT COPY) and install all the drivers for the mobo too.

Whats the make and model of the PSU??

3. Demonlie

Demonlie Thread Starter