1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Random Crash Symtom ?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by EVOJ, Nov 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EVOJ

EVOJ Thread Starter

Hello Everyone !

I'm new here and a beginner, actually I have been using a computer since 1999, but when it comes to solving problems I have had I still consider my self a beginner.

I am presently using a Compaq Presario 5300US, and have replaced the Hard Drive with a Reformatted Hard drive from an unknown, computer, and installed WXP service pack 2, . .one of the problems I have is random crashes, I know that this is usually a mystery that needs alot of investigations, . .

Also, my internet pages used to freeze quite a bit this seems to have calmed down some, I am an AOL user, and it still crashes randomly,

so that and the computer still crash at random, . . I have recently noticed, that on an open page, in fact I was reading in this forum, I hit the back key, (the one used to erase text letter by letter), and upon striking the key AOL completely closed, I received a audible sound like an alert message might give, sort of a bunk ! and it closed instantly, . . is this a symptom that anyone recognizes ?

I'm not sure if the internet crashes and the computer crahses are related but,
    I really would like to cure the random crashes, so I can get on with other repairs ?

2. Jackle75

Jackle75

Stop error are related to hardware or driver failures. http://kadaitcha.cx/stop_err.html#Tips_to_Help_Track_the_Problem_Down

This should help you to isolate the driver that's causing the random shut downs. If you have some tenical background you could download a debuging tool and analyze your dmp files. The tools are free and you can download them from microsoft.