1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Random Freeze Up on Vista

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by AMCN, Jul 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AMCN

    AMCN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    I am using Windows Vista Home Premium. Encountering freeze ups in all different scenarios. Most common experience is getting on the machine early in the morning to find the keyboard non-functional and the touch pad only capable of moving the cursor around the screen. No tap sensitivity and no click response (either left or right) The clock will have stopped at some point in the middle of the night. This happens when I have programs running and when the system is resting from any manually activated programs. There does not seem to be any real consistency to the onset. I have to do a hard shut down about once every day or so. Am using AVG and have done scans for virus finding no problems. I have done Windows system scans as well with no result.
     
  2. usasma

    usasma

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Please provide this info:
    May also need event viewer files. It may be easier for you to post this info: http://www.sysnative.com/forums/showthread.php/68-Blue-Screen-of-Death-%28BSOD%29-Posting-Instructions-Windows-7-amp-Vista
     
  3. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    Please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread.
    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  4. AMCN

    AMCN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    USASMA,

    I have not been able to save this file as a .txt. file yet. I will await your instruction.

    I have loaded the .nfo file as you requested.

    AMCN
     

    Attached Files:

  5. usasma

    usasma

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Don't worry about the .txt file - I can read the .nfo file.

    2 suggestions:

    - when running Internet Explorer, go to Start and type in "iexplore -extoff" (without the quotes) and press Enter. That'll run Internet Explorer without add-ons. See if that fixes the problems.

    - try this free program: http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/shexview.html
    Disable all non-Microsoft extensions and see if that helps (reboot required). If it does, then re-enable them in groups of 5 or 10 until you find out which one's are at fault.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1061707