1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Random rebooting.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gmadeley, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gmadeley

    gmadeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Hello all

    I recently purchased a sysytem with the following specs.

    Mecer MIDI ATX Gaming Tower + 400W ATX2 PSU W/Front Audio, USB & 1394
    Intel BAD AXE 2 PENTIUM D ATX M/B (Intel 975X Chipset)
    2off 1GB DDR2 (DDR2-800), 1.44MB FDD
    1 Serial, 1 Parallel, 1 x 1394a/b, 4 Serial ATA II, 2 PS/2, 6 USB 2.0
    2 x PCI Express x 16 Graphic slot, Intel High Definition Audio (8-Channel)
    ATi Radeon X1950 PRO PCI Express x 16 256MB DDR RAM W/DVI, TV-Out
    Intel PRO-1000 10/100/1000TX Gigabit On-Board
    DVD+RW / DVD-RW / DVD-RAM Super Multi Drive
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    1. From day one it began losing video out to monitor as soon as a game would try to run.
    2. I returned it to the manufacturers who after a week decided the ATi X1950 pro must be at fault (compatibiltiy or some thing) - this did not sound right.
    3. They also apparently changed each piece of hardware one at a time until we decided to down grade the graphics card to a X1650 pro, which it has in now.
    4. The machine ran for about six hours without any problems (installing, gaming, copying data - the usual you need to do on your new play thing.)
    5. Then the rebooting started again.
    6. Back to the manufacturer we went but they seem to be in the dark.

    Has anyone experienced a similar fault?

    Please help
    GUY.
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Howdy,

    The second problem may not be related to the first.

    Checking the EventViewer for any Errors might shed some light on things.
     
  3. gmadeley

    gmadeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Hello bonk

    Thanks for the advice. I will see if any thing turns up.

    Ta Guy
     
  4. gmadeley

    gmadeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Hello

    Computer manufacturer reckons the fault is with the tower case.
    Will see today.
     
  5. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Keep us posted....
     
  6. gmadeley

    gmadeley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Hello

    All is now well with PC. I approached INTEL customer support and after getting the standard 'search FAQ's' automated reply and then escalating my problem they personnally replied with advice which included 'check for a chassis ground fault'. About the same time the PC manufacturer, after swopping out everything including power supply, noticed that the system would run when it was out of the box but not in. They changed the chassis and now all is well. Still a bit strange though. I would have liked to know exactly what went wrong with the chassis.

    Thanks for all the help.
    Guy.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538188

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice