1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Random reboots during gameplay.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zomboy, Jan 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zomboy

    Zomboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    One of my friends built my computer a few years ago. It has worked so well until recently.
    During my Fall semester of school, I moved into a new apartment number on campus.
    World Of Warcraft has worked fine ever since I moved into this apartment.

    The problem,
    Within 5-10 minutes when I first log into WoW for the day, my computer Shuts off and reboots.
    When I get on again, right after, it reboots itself again, but only within 2-3 minutes or less.
    I've tried playing on the lowest setting possible, even though I normally play on ultra... :/

    My computer has done this even watching youtube videos.

    What is weird about this problem is, when I went home for christmas break, my computer did not shut off once. I played and played and played, for hours.

    I just got my internet today, same apartment as last semester, about 10 minutes into gameplay, it shut off and rebooted.
    Logged back into my account, 2-3 minutes, shut off and rebooted.

    If I were to go home and hook my computer up and log in, I would be able to play for hours.

    Is this a faulty PSU?
    I'd call it overheating, but it only does it here.
    I've tried two different outlets also.
    So any suggestions? :confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    605
  3. Zomboy

    Zomboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2300 CPU @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4077 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti, 2047 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 1430696 MB, Free - 1109416 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P8H67-V
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  4. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    What make, model and wattage PSU are you running? Also go into the BIOS and report back the temps and voltages please.
     
  5. Zomboy

    Zomboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    CMPSU 600CX
    600 watt i assume.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Go into the BIOS (press the del key on startup) and check the temps and voltages there under Hardware Monitoring. Your PSU is Corsair's Builder series which are their lowest tier power supplies, but it should be enough to power what you're running. How old is the PSU?
     
  7. Zomboy

    Zomboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084289

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice