1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Random Wifi Disconnects

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Coolos, Apr 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Coolos

    Coolos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Hey guys, I have had a recent problem with a new xfinity router I just got where my Inspiron computer running Windows 7 is connected to the router, but says no internet access. This happens often when I am browsing the web or watching a video, but not so much when I am not using the internet. The problem fixes itself usually in about 1 minute or so, or I can disconnect and reconnect to the router to fix it.
    I also have a problem where my laptop disconnects from the router every time I shut the case. I open the laptop again, and a little popup shows up in the bottom left saying that no network adapter can be found, and the network thing on the task bar says no network connections can be found. This goes away after maybe 2 seconds or so, but the laptop does not connect to the wifi again until i tell it to. Neither of these seem to happen on other devices connected to the router. Thanks for all comments.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    This has only just happened with the new router - the PC worked fine on the old router?

    whats the exact model of the PC and also the service tag number
    would be worth updating the wireless driver

    Wireless connection drops out - Turn OFF "Power Save Mode"

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    If the above does not work then

    For Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager
    For Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW key and the X key together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm
    Once you are in device manager then navigate to

    Network Adapters

    Right click on your wireless network adapter, and select Properties

    Go to the Advanced Tab, click on "Power Save Mode" and set the value to "Off". The default is usually "Maximum".
    OR
    Go to the power management tab. click on "Allow computer to turn off device to save power" make sure its not selected

    This will obviously cause your battery to drain faster, This frequently helps connections that drop for seemingly no reason.

    Power Plan on PC
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/power-plans-faq#1TC=windows-8

    Change to high power and see if that helps
    http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/5464-power-plan-settings-change-windows-8-a.html




    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Coolos

    Coolos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks for the detailed answer. The computer did work fine with the old router. It is a Dell Inspiron N5110 with the service code FX2VKR1. I went into device manager, and under network adaptors, I have 6 different things:

    Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Bluetooth Device (RFCOMM Protocol TDI)
    Intel(R) Cnetrino(R) Wireless-N 1030
    Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #2
    Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller

    Which one of these am I changing. Also, I noticed both virtual wifi miniport adapters have the little exclamation point icon next to them. Thanks.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    this should be the wireless adapter in use
     
  5. LaptopNomad

    LaptopNomad

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    How busy is your WIFI network neighberhood?

    Are there many competing other WIFI routers sharing the same channel?

    See what your WIFI network neighberhood looks like with this tool;

    http://www.laptop-junction.com/toast/content/wifi-signal-strength-detector-android

    If your router is using a channel also used by others, change it to a different less congested channel.

    Then try again if that changes the disconnects or problem behaviour
     
  6. Coolos

    Coolos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Ok, I changed the channel from 6, which had 8 networks on it, to 11, which has 6. I will let you know how it goes.

    Also, I do not see any options in the advanced section of the network adapter for power save mode.
     
  7. Coolos

    Coolos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Looks like it still disconnected.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://go.pardot.com/l/66982/2015-01-26/2361i
    enter you details
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo now )

    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Alternative links - Use the links below
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Monitoring/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector.shtml


    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  9. Coolos

    Coolos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Hmm, I am trying to download it, but when I open the installer, a little popup flashes for a second, then the installer starts. However, when I try to start the install, it tells me another install is in progress and it cannot continue.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. Coolos

    Coolos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Okay, I was able to get it now. Here is the screenshot. Let me know if you need any other info from the program.
    Capture.PNG
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    log into the router and change the wireless channel to use channel 1 or 6
     
  13. Coolos

    Coolos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Yep. It was on 6, but then I changed it to 11 to see if it would make a difference. I'll put it on 1.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ok, let us know how you get on
     
  15. Coolos

    Coolos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Looks like it is still having problems.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146503

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice