1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Randomly losing internet connection, any ideas?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by EvanHarpell, Aug 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EvanHarpell

    EvanHarpell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Sorry to bother everyone but I need some help. For the past couple of months I have been randomly losing my internet connection, but not in the traditional sense. I can randomly browse the web, or play games, and what not then out of no-where my connection just drops. Scary thing is that the computer never recognizes that it's lost the connection. At first I checked a couple of help pages and found that routers lose their DHCP functions with age? So I replaced both my network card and router and am still having the same problems. Any ideas?
    IPconfig/all shows this

    Hostname: Master
    Primary DNS suffix:
    Node type: Broadcast
    IP routing enabled: No
    WINS Proxy enabled: No

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix: Carolina.rr.com
    Description: Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter
    Physical Address: 00-18-F8-2E-14-4B
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
    IP Address: 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server: 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers: 24.25.5.150
    24.25.5.149

    Lease Obtained: Tursday August 23, 2007 5:02:04 PM

    Lease Expires: Friday August 24, 2007 5:02:04 PM

    I am using a Time Warner Broadband Cable Modem ( do not have actual specs ) with a Linksys WRT54G Wireless Router and a Linksys WMP54G Wireless PCI Adapter.

    Funny thing is that the connection icon does not go dead when I lose my link, it just shows that my end is trying to connect and not getting a response. The router software came with a link advisor that also does not show loss of connection to the router.
    I am totally lost, thanks ahead of time for your help
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    First thing I'd do is try changing the channel on the router, my favorites in the US are channels 1, 6, or 11.
     
  3. EvanHarpell

    EvanHarpell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    So how would one go about changing that? Is that in the router settings?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Yep, access the web based configuration of the router in the wireless configuration settings.
     
  5. EvanHarpell

    EvanHarpell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Ok, it's not the wireless connection that I am losing, its my connection to the internet or so it seems. After I lose it, my signal strength is still very high and neither of my software apps realize that the connection is even lost. I changed it as you offered just to make sure but I am still having this problem. I even tried re-installing the devices and drivers for them but have had no such luck.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If you're losing the connection to the internet, you're looking in the wrong place. Is the modem losing the data connection?
     
  7. EvanHarpell

    EvanHarpell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Could not really say. Let me try to explain in more detail.

    I'll be browsing the web, or playing a game, then randomly the I lose my link. game stops responding, or I can't open a new web page. The 2 little blue comp's in the taskbar that notify you that your connection is good, does not go with that little X or ! saying that you have limited or no connectivity. The user side ( first comp ) lights up as if it's trying to reach it's destination, but the second one ( server side ) does not. I have to reboot the router to get it to work again and sometimes it takes multiple tries to get it back online. The EasyLink software that came with my router normally detects when I lose connection to the router and the wireless card has a "monitor system" that says yeah I can see the router but cannot access the internet. Could it be a faulty modem? I moved about 3 months ago and had this problem at my old place too.
     
  8. EvanHarpell

    EvanHarpell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Also as a addendum, whenever I go to reset the router, the proper lights are on the modem as if it doing what it is supposed to be doing
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    It could be a faulty modem, or an issue with the ISP. Have you connected directly to the modem for a period of time to see if the issue still occurs?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/614318