1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

randomly shutting down pc

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ashwinachu, Feb 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ashwinachu

    ashwinachu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    hello iam game fan . recently i make a assembled pc for gaming . but now iam facing a problem of randomly shut down while playing games (prototype 2 and call of duty, amazing spider man etc.)
    configuration of my computer is
    processor - intel core i7 4790
    graphics card - amd r9 280 3 gb ram
    ram - 8 gb
    power supply - cooler master 600w
     
  2. weirdtoys

    weirdtoys

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Hi,

    Since you are a gamer , I would say it is caused through over heating. Heat related occur when the computer is over worked. You can also check to see if there is no dust particles or any debris that will cause air flow.

    Another suggestion could be to disable sleep mode
     
  3. ashwinachu

    ashwinachu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    it all happens with in 30 mins when i switched to game. so i think it is not caused by over heating.
    some one told me to change my current psu 600w
     
  4. ashwinachu

    ashwinachu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    it all happens with in 30 mins when i switched to game. so i think it is not caused by over heating.
    some one told me to change my current psu 600w
     
  5. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    I would also suspect overheating first.

    Have you also checked your memory.

    I would also think that a 600w power supply is possibly on the low side as well.
     
  6. ashwinachu

    ashwinachu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    is there any solution to fix over heating.
    but i think it is not over heated because i played the game for only 25 to 30 mins.
    can any one tell me which psu to take for gaming.
    my current psu is cooler master 600w
     
  7. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Which PSU you want depends on what hardware you're running. Some GPUs and CPUs require more power than others. Please download Speccy. This will give us a look at you hardware and temps.

    Download and run Speccy http://www.piriform.com/speccy

    After it runs click File, Publish Snapshot, then paste the link provided here.
     
  8. ashwinachu

    ashwinachu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    CPU
    Intel Core i7 4790 @ 3.60GHz 38 °C
    Haswell 22nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz (9-10-9-26)
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. B85M-DS3H (SOCKET 0) 28 °C
    Graphics
    22MP56 ([email protected])
    Intel HD Graphics 4600 (Gigabyte)
    3072MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (Sapphire/PCPartner) 34 °C
    33 °C
    Storage
    931GB Seagate ST1000DM003-1ER162 (SATA) 26 °C
    Optical Drives
    HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24NSC0
    Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio

    CAN YOU HELP ME WHICH PSU TO TAKE FOR GAMING
     
  9. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Can you please post the entire report? Under File/Publish Snapshot, it'll provide you a link to post. Thanks.
     
  10. ashwinachu

    ashwinachu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7
  11. ashwinachu

    ashwinachu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7
  12. KomputerKid

    KomputerKid

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    You have a high end CPU but low end RAM and PSU. I don't know but upgrading to a name brand PSU and installing dual channel RAM may help.

    Checking the minimum specs for Protocol 2 through their compatibility checker your CPU/GPU combination got a 60% compatible. Which means you can play but it won't perform well and probably strain your system.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1142512

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice