1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Range Extender

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CHH, Jul 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CHH

    CHH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    I have a Netgear RangeMax Cable Router but still can't get a signal in a particular room in the house. The router is in the attic, three floors up.

    If I get ONE OF THESE, can I just sit it on the landing, half way down, and give it a go?

    Obviously I'll need to set it up, but once that's done can it just sit there, completely separate from the router, plugged into the power supply, and increase the signal downstairs?

    Thanks.
     
  2. CHH

    CHH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Looks like I've answered my own question with the Linksys WRE54G.

    I take it that'll connect up to Netgear equipment?

    Thanks.
     
  3. darylzero

    darylzero

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    From what I have found the WRE54G does not work with netgear. In fact I believe it only works with 2 other linksys products.
     
  4. silvershield

    silvershield

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    469
  5. CHH

    CHH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Thanks.

    Does anyone know of a Range Extender that will work with Netgear equipment?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  7. CHH

    CHH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Brilliant.

    Thanks.
     
  8. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,235
    Does this HWREG1 also support all forms of current encryption Johnwill? I may need this in the near future.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Sure, it doesn't care about the encryption really, it just forwards packets. It doesn't actually have to look at them.
     
  10. AlexTs

    AlexTs

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Is that HWREG1 the same thing as Hawking's HSB2 wireless booster?
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Nope, the HSB2 is just an amplifier that you boost the signal strength of any unit that has a detachable antenna. Look at the descriptions on the www.hawkingtech.com website. :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482364

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice