1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RANT:[Humor] Apple QuickTime vs. Firefox for Windows

Discussion in 'Random Discussion' started by gyrgrls, Dec 25, 2010.

Advertisement
  1. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    OK, I run Win 98, Windows 2000, and XP PRO SP2.

    Forget VMWARE. It won't help.
    And I don't do Apple. Sorry.

    Now, certain websites tell me I need QuickTime.
    But WAIT! I already HAVE QT.

    OK, they want THEIR version.

    But if I install, Riven won't start.

    So, I have Riven (along with other games)
    installed to a separate partition. That should fix it,
    right? Ha, ha, ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha....

    I am at my wits end with Apple trying to take over my IBM.
    If I wanted a MAC, I would have bought one.

    Yeah, I know: OS X is a BSD spin-off, so I should be in
    Unix heaven.

    But it doesn't work that way. Sorry.

    I just want to be able to view a website, using Firefox under XP,
    without having to reboot into Windows 98SE to play Riven.

    (And no, it won't run in DOSBOX; not even in Vista or 7).

    I guess, my real question is:
    HOW MANY VERSIONS OF QT DO I HAVE TO INSTALL per OS/VM?


    Now I'm shouting. Sorry about that.

    Just venting.

    Just kidding.

    Merry Christmas, everyone.
     
  2. mtaki

    mtaki

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    147
  3. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Oh yeah. Been there.

    I got it running...

    I was just blasting Apple, and its poor implementation across various versions of Microsoft Windows.
    :D

    Anyway: Thanks for the reply.

    Happy New Year.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    This is a technical forum. If you do not have a problem, or are not helping with one, please do not post in this forum.

    (I have moved it to Random Discussion.)
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970521

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice