1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RAS Error 720

Discussion in 'Networking' started by daza1976, Mar 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daza1976

    daza1976 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    I have a Advent 5612 using Vista, when un-installing Norton it paused and just hanged for ages, had to reboot laptop, when trying to use the vodafone usb modem 3g stick again, it was coming up with ras error 720, tried running rarepair, no joy, device manager looks ok, tried re-installing vodafone mobile connect as well, still same error, I have connected vodafone and they can't help me its a problem with my laptop....great! Also tried intalling the usb modem again, and other devices in device manager. Anyones help will be great!!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    First, I'd try running the Norton Removal Tool to finish the Norton uninstall.

    Next, try this stack repair.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.


    Finally, let's see this for the machine.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. daza1976

    daza1976 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Many Thanks, I will post the findings when I get back from work tonight
     
  4. daza1976

    daza1976 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\kelly>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kelly-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-0D-BA-AC-D4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187SE Wireless LAN PCIE Netwo
    rk Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-46-A4-71
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{6A967B25-E74B-412F-BAC8-C6347CB1E
    F87}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{BAAEBAB5-624B-4BA6-B722-4A8ECEC94
    37F}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{F28C6701-36FF-43B3-8FD9-6C171C50E
    C5C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{F28C6701-36FF-43B3-8FD9-6C171C50E
    C5C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{F28C6701-36FF-43B3-8FD9-6C171C50E
    C5C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I see no evidence of your USB 3G modem installation there.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
     
  6. daza1976

    daza1976 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    I have checked this for the first intance, under device manager there is no ! marks anywhere, the usb mass storage device is there, the usb modem is there, after re-installng the usb modem, it finds it again after scan for new hardware changes. The only strange one in there is a RAS sync adaptor and RAS sync adaptor 2, one is disabled and the other one is enabled ok, that was under show hidden devices. In the Vodafone mobile connect software it picks the usb modem up, as showing as active, but when trying to connect to it, it comes up with ras error 720. Under Network adaptors there is just one Ethernet adaptor.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  8. daza1976

    daza1976 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    I have seen that already I have a thread open on there as well with the same problem, no-one could really find a solution to it. Looks like this problem will never be fixed tried eveything!
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Unfortunately, this is a somewhat specific issue that I have never tinkered with, sorry we can't be of more help on this one.
     
  10. daza1976

    daza1976 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    No problem thanks for you time
     
  11. daza1976

    daza1976 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Just to let you know in the end did a complete OS restore and that fixed the problem ok. Now back online :)
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, that's the extreme measure, but I guess is we were drawing blanks... :D


    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/808730

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice