Re formated xp pc is haunted!!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

niteshadow12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
5
Ok i am very new to this so please bear with me. I have re formated my dell dimension 2350 pc (xp) I added more memory now running at 1 gb. I re loaded java and it will not work on this pc. i have to clear the java sun console first in order to use it and clear when i am done with it so it wont show up as a running problem. Yes removed program several times and re downloaded. Norton 360 was on it and after 2 days windows was saying it wasnt working. Norton says it working and fully protection yet i have the shield up saying i have no virus protection on my pc... so i deleted norton 360 and put on avg 7.5 Same thing. I am confused :confused: :confused: is this just a halloween haunting or do i need to replace a hard drive,,,,
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
Welcome to TSG....

When you re-installed windows xp did you use the Dell restore or recovery software or another type?
 

niteshadow12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
5
I used the xp reinstall cd that was with the dell. The only thing that has changed since i bought this pc (5years ago) is that i have increased the ram was 256MB now running with 1280MB. also installed is a dvd burner.
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
When you re-installed windows xp did you do a format the hard drive during the install process?
 

niteshadow12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
5
yes i did format the hard drive. 3 weeks previously, i had reformated my sisters pc same type and only thing is that she already 768MB of ram. I formated re install windows updated and put some of her programs on that she wanted. She is also running norton 360 and she has had no problems at all.
Thats why this confuses me so much. By the way, thank you for the welcome to the site
 

niteshadow12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
5
Ok so i reformatted the pc all over again. with everything that i downloaded back into it,,,, java was working until, I downloaded Microsoft office 2007. now it shows me that i have a runtime environment problem. So i deleted office 2007 out of system. Guess what now java is working again. What is going on,,, HOw do i fix this.??????
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top