1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

re-installing XP Home

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tfrost2002, Dec 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tfrost2002

tfrost2002 Thread Starter

I recently purchased a used Dell desktop pc which had XP Home installed (previously) and has a COA certificate for XP Home on the case. I have tried burning the following files to a cd but it will not boot. I used Nero to burn the disk. The boot order is correct with cd first. These files were said to be bootable. Does not boot.
    OEM
    Docs
    DOTNETFX
    I386
    SUPPORT
    VALUEADD
    AUTORUN
    README
    SETUP
    sq
    WIN51
    WIN51IC
    WIN51IC.SP2

Would someone please help me? I know I must be doing something wrong but I am new to this and I am lost. The files were said to be Dell reinstall or recovery iso(?) but I am not even sure what that means. I have read many articles but most just confuse me more.

Please remember that I am a newbie in this situation and write with that in mind.

Thank you in advance for your help and consideration.

2. tfrost2002

See above. "The boot order is correct with cd first."

3. Elvandil

Elvandil

Just burning files to a CD does not make it bootable. It need a boot sector and possibly boot files just like anything else bootable.

If you have an XP CD, you need to make an exact copy of it, boot sector and all.

4. tfrost2002