1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Re-Installing XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tel.121, Feb 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tel.121

tel.121 Thread Starter

Hi, I'm a complete novice when it comes to my computer, hence this post. My computer crashed and a friend tried to re-install XP to no avail, It is now stuck on the 13th screen (the one after entering the product key), of the installation screen saying 'installation will be complete in 39 mins' but does'nt move from that point. I changed the bios setting to boot from Cd but the same screen comes up showing the same point as above and i have been unable to do anything else. When I put the cd in there is no options coming on the screen, the XP loading screen comes up, (the one before your accounts come up), then go's onto the screen as above. It's as if it's not picking up the cd from the drive. The only things it will let me access is the bios setting's ( by preesing F4) and the boot screen (by pressing F8). If anybody has any ideas it would be a help. Thank You.

P.S. My Computer is a Packard bell Xtreme 9087, AMD Athlon XP3000, 512 ram, 60 gb hard disk with a Galaxy motherboard and OS-Windows XP SP2.

2. SUEOHIO

SUEOHIO

First Name:
    SUE