re kernel 32 ipf's

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

indigowindow

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2001
Messages
211
has anyone tried implementing this solution to kernel 32 ipf's:

The following has solved many people's Windows Explorer KERNEL32.DLL crashes. It is given solely as information.

In the root directory of C:\, modify or create a CONFIG.SYS file to include the following lines:

FILES=65
BUFFERS=40
STACKS=64,512
 

indigowindow

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2001
Messages
211
which particular error are you referring to? i don't need any more links to ipf and fatal exception collectives. i don't want to try this and try that. i'm interested in specifics. what specifically does that proposed solution address, for instance.

i have been getting this error:

IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
module KERNEL32.DLL at 0167:bff7b9a6.

if there is a definite solution for this particular error that would be nice.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
One of the causes of this specific error at this specific address is McAfee.

Try disabling it, and see if it disappears. If it does, review the McAfee site for updates or suggestions. And/or consider replacing it.

The parameters above affect the DOS environment. I can't see how that would stop invalid page faults.
 

indigowindow

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2001
Messages
211
i don't have mcaffee. right now there is nothing in my config.sys window, which why i'm reluctant to put those suggested entries in there without getting some feedback first. i'm running a web filter, the proxomitron, that might be causing that error. but i don't know for sure. i can not use it for a while and put up with popup windows and doubleclick cookies...
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
This is a continuation of the original thread you have going on that error specific error message. Please keep replying to the original so everyone knows what you've tried and what you haven't tried. This is closed as a duplicate post.

BTW, there aren't always absolute, specific and definitive answers to the type of error your getting. You need to be willing to try different things. If your not willing to try different things to see if the error goes away, then your not going to solve it.


http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=62737
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Originally posted by indigowindow
i don't want to try this and try that.
Unfortunately, computer life is just that sometimes...trial and error.

You can put that in your config sys file....probably won't help, just my opinion.

You could try updating your video drivers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Members online

Top