1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Re: Microsoft Products - To Update Or Not To Update?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mset, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mset

mset Thread Starter

Hi everyone

First, I must say that in the past week or two, the great members here have helped me to finally make some headway getting rid of a chronic internet connectivity problem I have been having. I have learned a lot about how to help myself in the process. I am no techie.

Now that my computer is (hopefully) stabilized), I am determined to do everything I can to prevent these things from happening again. A lot of people have told me that it is crucial for me to keep WIN 2000 Pro and all other Microsoft products updated by going to the website and checking for fixes that are posted there.

The problem for me is - I am not sure I TRUST Microsoft! For example, one of the things they put on my machine was loadqm.exe, something that slowed my machine badly and seems to be little more than spyware, from what I can gather from my web searches.

I went to the MSFT site and there are a ton of fixes I could potentially download, starting with SP4 for my WIN 2000 Pro, and also including fixes for IE.

Now for example - I have started using Mozilla exclusively. But when I got the the MSFT site, and entered my OS, it gave me the list of fixes, some of which depended upon which version of IE I was using. I had to open IE to find out, something I haven't done in a while. I got the version number and immediately shut IE down.