Re setting admin password

Dbulger613

Hi everyone, my name is Dustin.

Im looking for someone to help me through a command screen that i don't quite i understand. I was given a laptop from my neighbor that he hasn't used in a while. He gave it to me for my daughter's remote learning. When we powered it on he was unable to remember his password. I cant locate a password reset disk unless i order it online and at the moment im not able to afford it due to financial struggle from covid. I found a way to re set the password using the comand prompt screen by hitting the shift key 5 times. However when i follow the steps in the video it goves me a different result on the screen. I need someone to explain what im looking at and what to do to finish the password reset. Any input is welcome as im not a expert on computers. Please help , and thank you.

Couriant

James
Hello!

We do not assist in changing the passwords, but if they are giving the computer to you, I would suggest do a clean install of Windows.

Dbulger613

Hello!

We do not assist in changing the passwords, but if they are giving the computer to you, I would suggest do a clean install of Windows.

I saw that rule after i made the post. I didn't know or i wouldn't have asked, my apologies. But how would i do the clean install? Im fine doing that as well as long as it gets me access. I was planning on doing a complete reset so it was back to factory settings for my kids but i can't get passed the sign on

Gr3iz

Mark
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Hello and welcome to TSG!!

Many laptops have a hidden partition that can be used to restore the system back to "out of the box" condition. What is the make/model of the laptop?

Couriant

James
Also, to confirm, does your computer have a sticker for the Windows key?

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!