Read 3 E-Mails in 1 Account???

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

meoldman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
54
I use Outlook Express 6.0 for the majority of my e-mail. I also have 2 other e-mail accounts. Is there any way I could see if I have any e-mail on these 2 when I open Outlook Express 6.0?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
are the other accounts able to use POP - if so then yes - just add another email account

I have 4 emails into my outlook
 

meoldman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
54
Hi etaf, I don't know how to add another e-mail account.

When I went to my O.E.6.0 and clicked on Import Messages the only messages I could import were Microsoft, Endora or Netscape.

When I went to my O.E. 6.0 and clicked on Mail Account Settings it said No Other E-Mail Accounts Could Be Found.
 

meoldman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
54
etaf, I got as far as the Internet Connection Wizard where it asks for Incoming Mail (POP3, IMAP or HTTP) server.

It then asks for Outgoing Mail (SMTP) server.

I do not know what to put in for these 2 questions!

How do I find out this info?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
I've done this so many times I can do it in my sleep.

1)Open Outlook,go to Tools/Accounts,on the Mail tab,highlight the offending account and click the Remove button.

2)Now click the Add button and select Mail.

3)The Internet Wizard pops up and asks what name you want to appear in the From field of emails that you send-type your name.Click Next

4)Now you are asked to type in your email address-type it in.Click next

5)Now here's where it can get tricky,call your ISP and ask them what to put in the incoming and outgoing server boxes.eg.I use Shaw cable,and my incoming server is a POP3 so thats what I select from the drop box at the top.In both incoming and outgoing server boxes I type in "shawmail" and click Next
Your ISP will tell you what to type into those two boxes.

6)Now,in the Account Name box, type in just the part of your email address before the @ symbol.In the Password box type your password and make sure the Remember Password box has a check in it.Click next.Click Finished and you're done.

7)Do the above for any other accounts you want to set up.
 

meoldman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
54
rude, thank you so much for your detailed instructions.

I have printed them out and as dumb as I am I'm pretty sure I can follow them.
 

meoldman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
54
DCommon said:
If you go to http://www.emailaddressmanager.com/tips/mail-settings.html it'll give you the settings you need for some of the main isp's. As a general rule of thumb the servers you need will be

pop.<isp domain> eg pop.pipex.co.uk
smtp.<isp domain> eg smtp.pipex.co.uk
Thanks DCommon for the info.

I went to the url you suggested but it did not list the e-mail servers I wish to add to my Outlook Express 6.0.

I wish to add irishnation.com, safe-mail.net and ulltimateemail.com.

I've sent my ISP an e-mail asking how to do the above and am waiting an answer.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
These appear to be free web-based e-mail addresses. They don't have POP access which means you can't add them to Outlook Express or any such e-mail client. You can only access them on the web.
 

meoldman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
54
DoubleHelix.....yes, they are indeed free web-based e-mail. Thank you for your help.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

etaf.....thank you so much for all the trouble you went through to help me. It is very much appreciated.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
6
DoubleHelix said:
These appear to be free web-based e-mail addresses. They don't have POP access which means you can't add them to Outlook Express or any such e-mail client. You can only access them on the web.
You can double, you just need to make sure you select the right mail type when setting up the address. In outlook express just change the "incoming mail server" from pop to imap or http.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top