1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Readying slave drive for WIN XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by monkeysee, Sep 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. monkeysee

monkeysee Thread Starter

I have a master slave setup with WIN XP Pro. My current master C: drive is the one I use at this time. I wish to at my leisure, ready my slave drive for use without backing myself into a corner until I am ready. I understand that you are able to format, partition, etc from the computer management console. What scares me is that my slave drive is listed as C(F:) in the console. I even explored it from within the console, and it appears to have an identical content to my C drive, although I have mainly used it for storage. Can someone verify that if it is listed as a separate basic drive, I am not going to wipe out my present drive in the process? Also, do I partition as well as format when I do make the move? Thanks so much for any help.

2. norton850

norton850

I'm sure that I'm just missing what you are saying. I'm not sure what letter your slave drive has "C" or "F" How are they listed in my computer and if you explore them there does their content seem right?

3. murray654

murray654

If you disconnect the slave drive from the motherboard, does this prevent windows from starting? If not, then it is safe to re-format it. PS why partition it? A single partition is normally a good idea

4. monkeysee

monkeysee Thread Starter

In Explorer, I have a C: drive and a C:(F) drive showing. In Computer Management, I have a C(C:) healthy system drive, and a C(F:) healthy active drive. They are both show as basic fat32 partitions.