1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Realtek AC97 No Sound

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Stuck n Time, Jul 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stuck n Time

    Stuck n Time Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Using AMD Athlon(tm) XP2400 with XP Home and all updates. Previously was using 2000 Professional NT. After switching to new install of XP Home, I have no sound. Need to know which driver to load and where to get it. Audio Driver Ver 5.10.0.5490, Direct X9.0c, audio Controller Sis(7012) working properly with 2000 Professional. Message for sound is "This device is cannot start"(Code10) Need Help
     
  2. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    You need the motherboard drivers ( which include sound)
    Go to the motherboard makers website and download the drivers
     
  3. Stuck n Time

    Stuck n Time Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Maybe I don't need a driver, the following is what I have found.
    Class: System devices
    Device PCI bus
    Resource:
    MEM: [000A0000-000BFFFF]
    MEM: [0E000000-FEBFFFFF]
    IO: [00000000-0000047F]
    IO: [00000490-00000CF7]
    IO: [00000D00-00000FFF]
    IO: [00001100-0000FFFF]
    Device Drivers:
    This is the hardware description for the Realtek AC97 Audio
    Manufacturer C-Media
    PCI bus 0, device 2, funct 7

    Device Status
    This device cannot start (Code 10)

    More.....
    Audio Driver Ver 5.10.0.5490
    Direct X 9.0c
    Audio Controller SiS(7012)
    AC97 Codec ALC655
    Not sure what all of this is telling me, I am sure that it has something to do with the sound not there. When I bring the system up on the 2000 Professional side the sound is fine.
     
  4. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    Like bigbear says go to MB MFG to download driver
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/592950

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice