1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media. Please help

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by tobbebajs, Oct 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tobbebajs

    tobbebajs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Hi, i'm looking for some help on my brothers behalf :p

    His girlfriend used the computer yesterday normally without doing anything weird, and shut it down without any problems.

    He started the computer today and the "boot-menu" screen stayed on for like 1-2 minutes when it usually goes away after 6-7 seconds, but when that went away the screen went black and this came up:

    Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media.


    When i was there today before i started it and looked at BIOS and looked at the boot sequence, the order in the boot was

    1st: CD-ROM
    2st: Hard Drive
    3st: USB

    I'm not that very experienced with computers but i changed 1st to Hard Drive because to me it sounded reasonable that the computer boot with the hard drive that has the operating system installed on it.

    That didn't work so i changed it back.

    Sorry for poor english. Hoping for some help



    His system:

    Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
    4gb ram
    Intel Core2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz
    1tb harddrive
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Does it see the hard drive in Bios...what I mean does it list it by name not just Hard drive?

    How old is the Hard drive?

    Do you have a disc with the operating system on it?
     
  3. tobbebajs

    tobbebajs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    It just said Hard Drive, but the one where i wrote CD-Rom it doesnt actually say that. It alot of thing :p CD/2fjhiIO/jfsdigp/--- _-- like such
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You diddn't answer the other ??

    How old is the Hard drive?

    Do you have the operating system (Vista Home) on disc?
     
  5. tobbebajs

    tobbebajs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    The whole computer was bought in late december 2008

    Vista Home Premium 32-bit
     
  6. tobbebajs

    tobbebajs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Ive read around on sites i found on google and they said to check the BIOS settings for Boot Sequence (i've done that) and many had written that it doesn't say Hard Driver it says what you're hard drives name or model is. And it says Hard Drive on my brothers
     
  7. tobbebajs

    tobbebajs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    1st [(CD/DVD,4M-Optiarc DVD RW AD-720)]
    2nd Hard Drive
    3rd USB


    This is what it says on the boot sequence on my brothers computer.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/867985

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice