1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

'Reboot and select proper boot device'

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ariana5696, Jan 1, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ariana5696

Ariana5696 Thread Starter

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could help me. I have a Toshiba laptop and it keeps returning with the message 'Reboot and select proper Boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and pres a key.' I'm not very good with technology but I've had a look through various forums and tried pressing F12/F2 and nothing's working.

I have Windows 7 and it's a Toshiba Satellite L830-123 laptop.

Any help would be much appreciated!

2. metallica5456

metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Andrew
    Ariana, happy new year!

I got bad news probably though...

Did the system just do this all of a sudden?

Normally what this means is that the hard drive has failed and will need to be replaced.

Do you have a set of re overy disks??

As for the laptop, can you boot into the BIOS, probably using F2 or DEL immediately after powering on and locate the drives section and see if its being detected? If not likely its dead and needs replacing, so hopefully there's nothing on there that's life and death that isn't backed up to atleast one other source

3. Ariana5696

Ariana5696 Thread Starter

Thanks for your reply :) happy new year to you too!

It did happen suddenly :( F2 and DEL don't do anything either, it just shows the same screen.

Do you know the rough cost of replacing a hard drive? Fortunately there wasn't anything important but I'm just wondering if I should just by a new laptop.

Thanks!

4. metallica5456

First Name:
    Andrew
    Hi

Well it depends on a few things.

How tech savvy are you?