Reboot and select proper boot device

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Pyroh

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
3
My Toshiba laptop says reboot and select proper boot device and I've been reserching how to fix this online for a few days im usually pretty tech savy, but everything online says that you need to boot from bios but my computer wont boot bios for some reason, just hopeing someone has a fix to this.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,638
You are getting that msg because the bios cannot find any bootable hard drive. Usually this means the drive has failed however before replacing the drive, reseat the drive in the drive bay. Sometimes they can work loose and or poor connection.
 

Pyroh

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
3
You are getting that msg because the bios cannot find any bootable hard drive. Usually this means the drive has failed however before replacing the drive, reseat the drive in the drive bay. Sometimes they can work loose and or poor connection.
Yeah i did that guess I'll just have to buy a new hard drive, so if i bought a new one all I'd have to is put that one in and download a new version of windows?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,638
You would need to either install windows, drivers, programs, etc OR restore an image backup [if you have a backup]
Yes, it is pretty simple to install the new hard disk then install programs.

Some systems ship with a restore disk or disks. If you have these, then it puts the laptop back to the way it was when new.
 

Pyroh

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
3
You would need to either install windows, drivers, programs, etc OR restore an image backup [if you have a backup]
Yes, it is pretty simple to install the new hard disk then install programs.

Some systems ship with a restore disk or disks. If you have these, then it puts the laptop back to the way it was when new.
Another question, wouldn it be possible to take a hard drive out of a similar laptop and pop it in this laptop?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,638
Can you install it, sure. Will it work ie boot windows, most likely not due to different drivers. There is another problem with what you are asking. OEM type windows lic is valid with the original hardware only. A drive from a different system will not activate.

If you had win10, then there really is no problem. Just install the same version you had ie pro, home, whatever. Windows will phone home and see you already had windows installed and activate itself.
You can download the media creation tool from ms and make a windows install usb or dvd.
 
Last edited:
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top