rebooted from compaq to gateway

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

justinmunz

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
3
Is there any way of changing back to a compaq because the gateway lab top does not allow my computer to play music. an error message comes up when trying to play music or viedos. thanks.... Justin
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Welcome to TSG

As far as changing back to a Compaq that would be you choice of course:) Anyway no reason why your Gateway shouldn't play your music. How about giving us some more information. Like what you are trying to do and what the error message says.
 

justinmunz

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
3
C00D11BA: Cannot play the file
Windows Media Player cannot play the file because there is a problem with your sound device, such as a sound card or sound controller. You might encounter this error message for one of the following reasons:


This is the code that come up. the gateway was a lab top and the compaq was a regular computerI dont know if that would cause any problems. I do have speekers hooked up tht are new and should work fine. thanks again
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
1,281
Probably a Soundcard driver issue ?

Do you hear any sounds from this system ?
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Your Compaq would not be using the same sound device (and drivers) as the Gateway, unless you were extremely lucky....and, if you installed a Gateway branded operating system onto a Compaq, you more than likely will have other problems! Is that what you did?
 

justinmunz

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
3
I cant seem have any other problems with the computer it only seems to be with the media player and other sound devices. My guess is that it is probably in the driver is there any way to fix it if this is the problem? thanks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top