1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Recieving video in msm

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by rodfitzpatrick, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rodfitzpatrick

    rodfitzpatrick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    I have been attempting to use microsoft netmeeting with a friend in Brazil. The best we have managed yet is for her to see me for a couple of seconds. I have not yet managed to receive her video. I noticed that the option in tools to receive video is greyed out ?. I have used msm sycessfully with a colleague in England so I know it works. any ideas please ??
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Hiya

    I may be a bit lost here, but whats msm? Is it msn or is it a media player of some sort?

    eddie
     
  3. rodfitzpatrick

    rodfitzpatrick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    The message should have been referring to netmeeting not msm which refers to messenger.
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Hiya

    Which version are you using and what is your OS? Also, what is your video card? Controlpanel | System. Device manager. Under Display will be the name of your video card.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. rodfitzpatrick

    rodfitzpatrick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Hi Eddie

    I am using version 2.11
    OS = Win 98
    Video card = S3 Trio 3D

    Regards

    Rod
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Hiya

    You said S3 Trio 3D, but thats just the chipset. Does any of these ring a bell?

    Rio
    Replay
    ProGear
    Go.Video
    Diamond

    Was there anything else written in there? If not, you may have to click on properties and search that way.

    eddie
     
  7. rodfitzpatrick

    rodfitzpatrick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Sparkle graphics card

    Rod
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Hiya

    was there any more wording in Device Manager? That description is a bit vague. Is it a Sparkle GeForce3 64MB?

    eddie
     
  9. rodfitzpatrick

    rodfitzpatrick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    The description I have is Sparkle Tri.inc. 8bit 3D graphics card.

    I can't help feeling we are on the wrong path, as netmeeting is working within the Uk. Could it be something to do with the Brazilian service provider?
    I am going to find out the details of said provider to see if this will shed any light.

    Regards

    Rod
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Ah, I didn't realise that it was working in other countries but not Brazil. Yes, the ISP will be useful, but she may also need a proxy to enable her to send out.

    eddie
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63426

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice