1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Recommend router with inbound filter

Discussion in 'Networking' started by JZing, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JZing

JZing Thread Starter

I am not that experienced with setting up a network but I am learning all the time.

I need to purchase a router that will allow me to set up port forwarding (which my existing SMC router can do) AND filter inbound traffic to that specific open port so that only one to five IP addresses are allowed to use that open port (which my existing SMC router cannot do).

I've looked at the Linksys RVS4000's documentation and it seems to do what I need but the user reviews of the router are more negative than positive regarding slow download speeds which I cannot accept.

I've found that the D-Link DIR-655 (and 635 and 625) have the capability of using inbound filtering but again the CNET review along with the user reviews leave me skeptical.

I don't feel qualified enough to go the CISCO route due to my perception of the complexity of the setup of these routers.

Anyone care to make a recommendation for a router that will have an access control list feature via IP, accommodate 20 users and hopefully have a decent VPN function?

Thanks in advance.

Joe

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Truthfully, I'd bite the bullet and look a bit closer at the Cisco PIX line. I'm sure that the folks at Cisco will help you get it configured, and it's not that difficult.

3. JZing

JZing Thread Starter

Okay, I've looked at the 500 series that you recommended and expect that it may be the best choice but I'm not prepared to learn the pages of commands necessary for this router.