1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Recommendations Needed

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by technonot, Sep 16, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. technonot

technonot Thread Starter

I've just been 'talking' extensively with the software side, & we basically came to the conclusion that my current ancient computer is on the outs & doesn't have long to live. It cannot be upgraded.
    I'd like to build a new one from scratch. Although I'm a novice & have never tried this at home, I did take an A+ course last year so am not totally unprepared.
    I've been browsing on Pricewatch.com...I'd like to buy a motherboard combo (P4, at least 2.0Ghz) w/ integrated sound (upgradeable), USB 2.0, DDR SDRAM, heatsink & fan, a case/power supply combo, a video card with at min. 64mb ram (I'm not a serious gamer) and a hard drive--at least ATA 100 & 40Gb. I'd just like any suggestions/recommendations/cautions from anyone who's done this before & really knows what they're doing, so I don't screw it up. I'd appreciate any tips anyone wants to give me on products, etc. Oh yeah, I'd like to keep my Win ME & load it on the new HDD, mainly because I resent the fact that Microsoft won't let me put XP on more than one computer (if this is a dumb idea, please tell me why) Thanks!

2. plschwartz

plschwartz

technonot:
    you neglected to provide the most important spec of all: money. How much do you want to spend.
    I could be more specific but let me give you some guidelines:
    1. Think amd not intel
    2. To start out think of a barebones system which is case, mb and ps. Some include keyboard,mouse and speakers. If you are with me so far you might check out the SOYO website. www.outpost.com has a good range of barebones.