Recommendations

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Carolinedowney9

Hi! I'm an incoming nursing student, and I have never owned a laptop before. I'm looking at purchasing the 2020 MacBook Air, but I'm not sure if I should. I really don't know much about computers so I've been relying on reviews and several YouTube videos. I would upgrade to the i5 512 gigs of storage and 8gb of ram. There's a chance I'll be taking my classes online for the first year, so I want to know if it will be good for that. I also really want my laptop to last me 5 ish years. More would be better!! If this laptop is a complete bust, what else would you recommend? Thank you in advance!!

First question would be which platform does the online class use|prefer, Windows or Mac, or both?

Other than price....meaning Apple products are expensive, Almost all colleges use both platforms MacOS and Windows.

The question to you would be; are you familiar with MacOS.

Carolinedowney9

Other than price....meaning Apple products are expensive, Almost all colleges use both platforms MacOS and Windows.

The question to you would be; are you familiar with MacOS.
Somewhat. Like I've said I've never owned a laptop but I have several friends with them and I've used there's a couple times.

Carolinedowney9

Do you have an Apple iPhone.....is so it pretty close to that.
Right now I have a Huawei p20 however I will be upgrading to an iPhone this fall. I've had iPads in the past so I'm pretty comfortable with apple. I just want to know if there are better options

Depends on who you ask. ;)

Better for you would be Apple since you are already familiar with it, (and there is no direct Apple alternative).

Personally, I won't spend $1200 on Mac Book.....for that price I can get 2 very good window laptops. Again that's just me.